Dremel question for polising slide

PDA

TennJed
April 19, 2013, 12:18 PM
Ok I am new to dremels but not guns. I have several stainless revolvers and semi autos that I have polished with a rag and mothers mag over the years. I have seen all the post about DO NOT POLISH GUNS WITH A DREMEL. YOU WILL RUIN THE GUN, ect.

My question is, are there soft tip tools for your dremel that you can use with something like mothers mag? Looking at dremels in the store and there seems to be some softer tips, almost like cloth. I was just wondering if this would accomplish the same thing as a rag and polish, only quicker

If you enjoyed reading about "Dremel question for polising slide" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Steve H
April 19, 2013, 12:23 PM
Yes those items are available for a Dremel but IMHO I would not use them. They are too small and would possibly give you very inconsistent results. If you are new to the polishing process I suggest you use a soft cloth and polish ( I use Flitz) and practice on an item that you don't care about.

rcmodel
April 19, 2013, 12:27 PM
Don't.

You will end up with swirl marks all out of keeping with the desired end result.

You could use a low speed 1,800 RPM buffer with a 8" loose cotton wheel and get good results.
http://www.rakuten.com/prod/new-bench-buffer-polisher-grinder-buffing-polishing-machine/210899402.html?listingId=43395647

http://www.pjtool.com/buffingwheels.htm

But you will not get good results with a high-speed Dremel running 20,000 - 30,000 RPM.

Even the little soft cotton Dremel wheels become rock hard when spinning that fast.

rc

TennJed
April 19, 2013, 12:47 PM
Thanks guys. Looks like I will stick to my old elbow method I have been using

788Ham
April 20, 2013, 12:05 AM
That'll work best.... and after a bit you'll begin to hearin' a slight "clickin'" sound, don't worry about that either, its your elbow joint goin' in the fritz! :evil: