Getting into 30-06

PDA

johnandersonoutdoors
May 1, 2013, 01:06 AM
Hi everyone,

I am new to reloading. Last summer I finished up my research and bough my equipment in the fall. Up until now I have only loaded 9mm. 1000 of 1000 have gone bang with no problems at all. I have worked up a fairly light load (not snappy at all, not sure on velocity) using Unique that burns very cleanly compared to a few heavier loads I tried. I have been working on my first box of 4000 115 grain FMJ from Montana Gold and I have Penn, Dardas, MBC, and a few other companies bookmarked as good sources of handgun bullets.

Next move. I am planning to sell most of my 30-06 ammo and start loading for it. I haven't done much research on it yet, in fact just started looking at load data for a few minutes tonight. I am in no rush and I know that bullets are probably scarce. Imagine as if times were good, where do you go for affordable 150, 165, and 180 grain 308 diameter bullets for target shooting or hunting? I don't think I would mind pull downs unless there is a good case against them and new bullets are fine too. Imagine this is last fall, how much would I pay per bullet, $.20? I can buy in bulk but not necessarily looking for a ton as I don't shoot it too often. I am looking to buy online as local stores are not really an option.

Really just open to any suggestions you guys have.

Oh, and any recommendations on cheaper powders? Clean powders? Any other thoughts on 30-06 powders.

If you enjoyed reading about "Getting into 30-06" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
maxyedor
May 1, 2013, 01:42 AM
Need just a bit more info to help you out a bit better.

A hunting bullet and a target bullet are pretty different, but if you want a single bullet to serve double duty, you're better of target shooting with your hunting bullets than visa-versa.