How far would you shoot with a Bow?

PDA

flipajig
May 11, 2013, 12:40 AM
How far would you take a shot at deer size critter?
In different parts of the country you are limited on how far you are actualy able to see and some parts you can see for miles.
I used to live in Texas but have moved to Idaho where you can see as far as you want to.
So this raises the question how far would you take the shot. I have been shooting a bow for several years and shoot 2 to 3 times a week any where from 20 yds out to 70 yds in various wind directions I'm not bragging but I'm able to shoot a 3 to 5 inch group on very regular.
So given the right situation where the criter is not nervous and presents the right shot that you feel good about how far would you shoot.
To give you some insight on how I have my bow set up my bow is set at 70 lb carbon arrows that weigh 470 grains and 270 fps through my chronograph.
Lets here what you have to say.
Flip

If you enjoyed reading about "How far would you shoot with a Bow?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
jmr40
May 11, 2013, 06:15 AM
When I was into bowhunting and practiced regular I felt that 20-25 yards was my limit with a recurve. With a compound bow, I could probably double that. I never really worked on shooting farther. Even if I made a hit, I'm not confident in a bows ability to cleanly kill from much farther.

Lloyd Smale
May 11, 2013, 06:27 AM
30 is it for me. Even now with using a crossbow i dont shoot any farther. Im just not one that thinks tracking wounded deer is fun!

shaggy430
May 11, 2013, 07:39 AM
40 yards.

Zeke/PA
May 11, 2013, 08:02 AM
30 yards tops but I've taken most of my bowkills at considerably less.
Shooting a compound from a treestand.

Tommy Medlin
May 11, 2013, 10:07 AM
45/50 yds.with my crossbow ,160 lb. pull,320 fps,but I like them closer.

303tom
May 11, 2013, 10:12 AM
Never take a shot over 35-40 yards !..................