Safety

PDA

Potatohead
May 15, 2013, 03:58 PM
I could be wrong but it seems like a good many folks say they do not like a thumb safety on their firearm. My uncle is a LEO and he scoffs at any gun with a safety-he wont even consider having a gun with one..

Also, i've heard a lot of people say they do not like a magazine disconnect safety either.

I know the safety "between your ears" is the most important but
why do some folks not like safety features such as these, especially since you can choose to just not use the thumb safety if you have one? Am i missing something here? (FYI i'm still new at this so its quite possible that yes, i am missing something here).

If you enjoyed reading about "Safety" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
mcdonl
May 15, 2013, 04:06 PM
For me... it depends on the gun. 1911... I just know where it is, and how to operate it without thinking (Key Term there....) for my CCW gun I prefer internal safety pistol or DA revolver because I can shoot it without thinking about the safety.

Potatohead
May 15, 2013, 04:09 PM
makes sense. my uncle would be near offended if you accused him of having a safety. i didnt know if it was a macho thing, or their were certain disadvantages to having them or what.

GrOuNd_ZeRo
May 15, 2013, 04:10 PM
On a carry gun a safety might get accidentally put on safe without you realising it, as soon as you need to use it the trigger is dead because it's on safe.

My Smith M&P has an external safety which is easilly activated but it's not my EDC gun, my Taurus 24/7c has a very positive safety and I can deal with it when I carry it since it's not easilly activated so i'm mixed on the subject, really depends on the gun!

MtnCreek
May 15, 2013, 04:12 PM
Also, i've heard a lot of people say they do not like a magazine disconnect safety either.