WST in .38 special

PDA

mboe794
June 22, 2013, 03:22 PM
I am just getting started reloading this caliber for my 637. I currenty have PowerPistol and WST to work with. I have used these powders with outstanding results in 9mm. PowerPistol for the hotter stuff, WST for cast plinker rounds.

I worked up some 125 gr XTP's with PowerPistol to replicate some commercial defensive loads for the little J frame. As I expected, they performed well. Easily met, and exceeded, the velocities I was getting from similar weight factory +P ammunition. Makes one heck of a noise and a large fireball though.

That loading is fine and dandy for practicing for self defense situations. But I also want a lighter round that isnt gonna pound the aluminum frame to death. I have 140 gr TCFP from MO Bullets. Cowboy #14 I believe they call them. I want to use WST powder. However, load info has proven difficult to find. I have found a few online sources, but mainly for 158 grain bullets and a few different full wadcutters.

I think I could work off 158 gr LSWC data if I had to but if anyone has got a better direction to point me in I'd appreciate it. Not looking for total bunnie farts. Just a general use standard pressure load.

But that brings me to another question... what kind of velocities should I be looking for out of the 1 7/8 barrel? The only factory ammo I've been able to get my hands on is some of the fancier +P stuff. And most ballistic info available is based on longer barrel 38's.

If you enjoyed reading about "WST in .38 special" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Hondo 60
June 23, 2013, 12:45 AM
140 gr TCFP is not a common bullet.
I wish I had a recipe for you. :(
Good luck.

Walkalong
June 23, 2013, 11:57 AM