Help ID My FN 8mm Mauser

PDA

tharkey
June 27, 2013, 12:01 PM
I inherited an 8mm Belgian Mauser from my father. I am attaching a copy of the markings found on receiver and/or barrel. The rifle has a sporting stock, not military. Can anyone provide details from the markings?

If you enjoyed reading about "Help ID My FN 8mm Mauser" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
AethelstanAegen
June 27, 2013, 05:06 PM
Those are just Belgian proof marks. I'm not an expert on Belgian proof marks so I can't tell you much about dates but that should help you figure some of it out.

http://www.inherited-values.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/07/vintage-foreign-gun-proof-marks.jpg

Jim K
June 27, 2013, 11:27 PM
The 8x51mm Mauser is so close to the 7.62x51 NATO that they are almost twins except for caliber. I have little doubt that the 7.62 or .308 Winchester would fireform nicely in an 8x51 chamber. I would not fire either round at full power, though, until I had the rifle checked out.

I found dies on a Czech site but not cheap at €159. There might be some other way if you want to shoot the rifle.

Jim

303tom
June 28, 2013, 12:02 AM
They are special order, but you need to check out Midway.................
http://www.midwayusa.com/find?dimensionids=12409

tharkey
July 2, 2013, 01:18 PM
Thanks for the symbol chart, AethelstanAegen. Definitely Belgian. Now I know where it was made and who made it. Any advice on finding when it was made, perhaps by the serial number?

AethelstanAegen
July 2, 2013, 09:32 PM