I built this AR and it failed. AR15 scientist help much appreciated!!!

PDA

Mohave-Tec
June 29, 2013, 03:07 PM
I finished building my first AR 15 yesterday. Here it is in its earliest carnation.

http://i414.photobucket.com/albums/pp230/igonator/IMGP1019a_zps8aa8b7eb.jpg (http://s414.photobucket.com/user/igonator/media/IMGP1019a_zps8aa8b7eb.jpg.html)

So even though it was 100 degrees at 8:30 this morning at 4000 feet elevation I wanted to at least get out and run the barrel in. Now I've put together numerous bolt guns before and I'm a pretty handy mechanic but my experience this morning was dismal. I couldn't get off 2 rounds before a failure occurred. In the desert I wasn't able to make any determinations as to what was going on but back here at home after cleaning up the gun I am seeing some issues. Please give me a hand if you can?!

I hand load. I've developed 2 loads for other 223 rifles I have (KelTec SU16C and a Savage Axis 223) so I started out with the simpler hand load for those guns to run the new barrel in. The load on the middle is that load. It is a Remington 55gr Power-Lokt over 24.5 gr H335 with a COL of 2.182 to mimic the factory load sold at Wal Mart. The load on the left is a 60gr VMax over 25gr of Varget with a COL of 2.250. On the far right is one of the many Power-Lokt rounds I killed in my upped receiver this morning on its way to cambering. The next picture sounds one of these rounds nearly folded over.

http://i414.photobucket.com/albums/pp230/igonator/1_zps9fd711a2.jpg (http://s414.photobucket.com/user/igonator/media/1_zps9fd711a2.jpg.html)

I know next to nothing about ARs but I know other rifles. It looks as if I am having fail-to-eject issues then I'm slamming a new round into the back of the still chambered but spent case in front of it. What is doing this? I have a couple suspicions but would love to hear your opinions.