epoxy bed frizzen?

PDA

wisconsin
July 2, 2013, 01:41 PM
Okay, im fairly new to BP but I spotted a tower .69 pistol at a garage sale for $50 and took a chance. Cleaned it, inspected it, and put a few rounds down range :cool:
But the frizzen doesnt close all the way and there is no spring tension on it when it is closed. I dont feel like investing any money so I was wondering if it was possible to epoxy bed the frizzen to the pan (like a rifle action to a stock) and put a lump on the part where the frizzen should contact the spring, in order to keep it closed.

I cant see anything wrong with this, but I figured I'd ask first

Please and thankyou

If you enjoyed reading about "epoxy bed frizzen?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Acorn Mush
July 2, 2013, 09:00 PM
Epoxies I'm familiar with usually soften up at 300 degrees F. or so because of the hot gasses jetting out of the touch hole. I'm guessing your "bedding" would turn into a mess in a few shots.

You might have some luck building up the toe of the frizzen if you used a good-quality steel-impregnated epoxy, but even then I doubt it would be considered a permanent fix due to the shear forces encountered in opening and closing the frizzen. You would have a better chance if someone could add a little metal to the toe with a TIG welder, or even an oxy/aceteylene outfit.

Prior to doing any work at all however, I recommend you completely disassemble the lock, clean and lube it, then reassemble and check the operation. If it still has the same maladies, then you can look at repair options.

Hope this helps.

wisconsin
July 2, 2013, 09:36 PM
Yeah, I took it apart, cleaned, and lubed... Its just a crappy frizzen... TIG sounds good though

Loyalist Dave
July 2, 2013, 10:15 PM