AR scope mount


PDA






tote4570
July 3, 2013, 08:51 AM
I have a quad rail on my AR carbine. It seems to line up and be level with the upper. Is it ok to have the scope mounted to both the upper and the handguard, or should I just get a riser?
The iron sights I have are not flip up.

If you enjoyed reading about "AR scope mount" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
gotigers
July 3, 2013, 09:15 AM
A one piece mount like a Burris PEPR, i would say yes. I would not mount across it with two piece rings.

chrome_austex
July 3, 2013, 09:42 AM
Its never recommended to bridge onto the upper, but people do it and the world doesnt stop spinning. Try it and if you notice any wierd zero inconsistencies to loose groups then start looking for a cantilever mount.

Fixed front sight is ok, but a fixed rear would be highly annoying with a scope.

Skylerbone
July 3, 2013, 12:10 PM
If you have a flat top there should be plenty of real estate to mount a scope. I would advise against any set-up that connects receiver and handguard, that is a PITA waiting to happen.

henschman
July 3, 2013, 12:54 PM
Don't do it with individual scope rings, but you can get away with having the front end of a one piece mount extending onto the handguard rail a bit. There is not really a reason to do this though, when there are good extended one-piece mounts. I use a Primary Arms Extended mount, and have rail slots to spare on the receiver. And I always shoot nose to charging handle. My scope is far enough forward that the ocular lens is well forward of the rear sight, which can be flipped up with the scope in place. I have a Burris TAC30 1-4x.

gotigers
July 3, 2013, 01:28 PM
Another option: American Defense makes an extened recon mount. It allows for your scope to mounted further forward.

Skylerbone
July 3, 2013, 02:12 PM
I shoot as henschman does when using the irons or an RDS. Where we differ is when equipped with a scope. If I had a 1-4X I might have gone with the same nose to handle but with the 3-9X I prefer to extend the stock as the scope is meant for precision shots.

What you plan to use it for and which optic you choose should play a role in deciding which style, extended or standard, you choose. I'll throw in GG&G as another excellent maker of both styles.

henschman
July 4, 2013, 12:05 AM
For me, I have to fully extend the stock to shoot NTCH, so that's pretty much how it stays, whether shooting with scope, red dot, or irons. A consistent cheek weld and head position is even more critical with a scope than with a red dot.

tote4570
July 4, 2013, 02:51 PM
I also have to extend the stock to shoot that way. Probably will get a cantilever mount or riser and keep scope on upper only.

arizona98tj
July 4, 2013, 06:39 PM
A P.E.P.R. mount will move your optic forward a fair amount and you won't have to bridge over onto the rail, although it would allow you to do so. I use to have this setup on my M&P15 OR (http://www.stu-offroad.com/firearms/mp15/mp15-1.htm) until I upgraded the optic to something better.

http://www.stu-offroad.com/firearms/mp15/mp15-5.jpg

plouffedaddy
July 4, 2013, 08:20 PM
Another option: American Defense makes an extened recon mount. It allows for your scope to mounted further forward.

https://imageshack.com/a/img827/954/h8bi.png (http://imageshack.com/i/mzh8bip)Uploaded with ImageShack.com (http://imageshack.com)

I love mine--solid as can be and reasonably priced.

gotigers
July 4, 2013, 10:43 PM
The ADM Recon on my 3 gun AR is a good quality mount.

plouffedaddy: Nice FDE 6920?

If you enjoyed reading about "AR scope mount" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!