Problem reloading .40


PDA






brody
July 18, 2013, 07:28 PM
I just started reloading 40 caliber with once fired brass for my glock 22. I worked up my load and test fired them with no problems. I came home and loaded up 80 more and set them aside while I loaded some .45's which I needed for the weekend.

During this time I read some threads about how a should always be used because of the Glock bulge and other things. I ordered a Wilson case gage from Midway and when it got in I checked out my reloads. Of the 80 reloads only 20 passed. Figuring it was because of the bulge I sent away for the Lee bulge buster.

While that was being shipped, I thought I would check out the rounds with my barrel. My Glock has a Lone Wolf replacement barrel which is supposed to be match(?). Guess what, all of the rounds went in place without any forcing. Just dropped right in place. To double check I used the barrel from my Sig 229. Once again no problems.

What is going on here. Are my barrels oversized or is the gauge wrong?

Any suggestions?

If you enjoyed reading about "Problem reloading .40" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Chuck Perry
July 18, 2013, 07:44 PM
Try the same test in your bbls, but with a factory round. Compare how deeply the factory round chambers, compared to how deep your reloads go. If they both seat to the same depth, I'd say they're safe enough to shoot and that your gauge might be overly tight.

frankenstein406
July 18, 2013, 08:04 PM
check lees website but I think you can run live rounds through it.

bds
July 18, 2013, 08:51 PM
I ordered a Wilson case gage from Midway and when it got in I checked out my reloads. Of the 80 reloads only 20 passed

My Glock has a Lone Wolf replacement barrel which is supposed to be match(?). Guess what, all of the rounds went in place without any forcing. Just dropped right in place. To double check I used the barrel from my Sig 229. Once again no problems.

What is going on here. Are my barrels oversized or is the gauge wrong?
Most factory barrel chambers are more generous than the Wilson case gage. Lone Wolf barrel chambers are typically tighter than factory barrel chambers, especially for 40S&W.

As long as they feed and fully chamber in the Lone Wolf barrel reliably from the magazine, I would not worry and shoot them without "fixing" them with the FCD/bulge buster.

beatledog7
July 18, 2013, 09:08 PM
The LWD barrel's chamber is going to be a bit more generous than the Wilson gauge, and a factory Glock barrel's chamber is going to be more generous than most after market barrels. That's why factory stock Glocks are so good at not being ammo picky.

I have a Storm Lake barrel that is actually "tighter" than my Wilson gauge, or acts that way, for some bullet profiles. Ultimately, your barrel is the gauge that matters.

brody
July 18, 2013, 10:02 PM
Thanks for the responses, I thought I would be ok after shooting the work up loads and the barrel fit but wanted to check before firing.

Will still check with one of my factory when I find the darn gage.

Lennyjoe
July 19, 2013, 01:59 AM
I reload a lot of range brass that has been shot thru a Glock. Yes the brass has a little bulge and the Lee die doesn't clean it all up but they shoot fine in all of my non-Glock .40's

Hondo 60
July 19, 2013, 09:02 AM
What is going on here. Are my barrels oversized or is the gauge wrong?

The gauge is machined to absolute minimum standards so that the ammo will fit ALL barrels.
Most barrels are just a bit more generous.

If it fits, shoot it.
I wouldn't mess with loaded rounds.

higgite
July 19, 2013, 12:46 PM
Actually, the Wilson Pistol Max gauge, which I suspect the OP has, is machined to maximum cartridge standards. As others have said, most barrel chambers are sized larger than that so that any ammo within standard size range will fit. Wilson says that some ammo that won't fit the gauge might still fit your barrel's chamber.

ball3006
July 19, 2013, 02:10 PM
I have been reloading 40 s&w for 20 years and I have never experienced the problem you have. I use a small Dillon to reload this caliber.....chris3

brody
July 19, 2013, 10:00 PM
I found my .40 Wilson case gauge and tried factory Remington 158 grain hp's and tried a box in the gauge. Only two of the 25 went in all the way. The rest had some or all of the rim above the gauge. So even those don't fit as they should. May be that the gauge is a little small. I will call the company on Monday and check with them.

Thanks for all of the responses.

Jim

If you enjoyed reading about "Problem reloading .40" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!