Possible powders used?

PDA

Kuyong_Chuin
October 2, 2013, 12:48 PM
My brother had some 44 mag reloads made for him but didn't know what powder was used but the powder company being Hodgdon, and I was trying to figure out what the powder used might be. The factory Hornady 180 grain XTP rounds has some kick to them. The reloads kick less than a light loaded 38 special. I weighed the empty cases and they average 120 grains each with the bullets weighing 180 grains + or - 0.01. The loaded rounds weigh 315 grains even on average. That give about 15 grains of powder in each shell. I am thinking it is probably HS6 powder but since I am new to all this I thought I would ask if there are any others that it might be.

If you enjoyed reading about "Possible powders used?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Arkansas Paul
October 2, 2013, 12:50 PM
Trail Boss maybe if they're loaded to shoot that soft.

Weighing the loaded rounds will not give you an accurate estimate of how much powder is in the case. There are too many variables. All pieces of brass aren't a consistent weight/thickness.

Kuyong_Chuin
October 2, 2013, 01:10 PM
Yeah I know, but without a way to pull the bullet safely right now that is the closest way I have to finding out the load. I can not even use my press right now because I can't get to the bench. Dad not only has the work bench buried but has a tool chest, a wooden book shelf, and a 70 horse mercury power ski outboard motor sitting in front of it right now.

quaid
October 2, 2013, 04:01 PM
Trail boss has a distinct donut shape. You could possibly narrow it down some based on shape of powder kernel.

Personally? I would tear them down. 44 mag that feels like 38spl is a bad load. I wouldn't waste the bullets.

Buck13
October 2, 2013, 04:32 PM