ACOG needed ASAP for work in Bahgdad

PDA

9mmMike
March 25, 2004, 08:48 AM
Howdy team,
I got a note from my buddy Joe who is a recent arrival in Bahgdad and he has asked that I locate an ACOG for him, pronto.
As I am a pistol and shotgun guy, I have little (read that as none) experience with this kind of stuff so I am asking for help here.
Where can I get a TA011NSN, I think?
The key is the NSN. That designates that it is for the 16" bbl M4, I think.
I will be posting this on a couple high-integrity boards so if you see it again, don't be surprised.
Thanks in advance and please keep in mind why I am looking and where it is going. Prayers for Joe are also appreciated.
Mike

If you enjoyed reading about "ACOG needed ASAP for work in Bahgdad" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Bartholomew Roberts
March 25, 2004, 09:33 AM
There are a lot of different ACOG models and several in use in Iraq. The 82nd and 101st are fielding the TA11C on M-14s. The Marines are fielding the TA31F and SOPMOD kit still includes a TA01NSN for the time being.

Did your friend specify which ACOG he wanted? In my experience the versions with the always illuminated reticles (TA11 and TA31 series) are much superior to the TA01 series.

The TA01NSN, TA31F, TA31F-A, TA11F are all designed around a flattop M4-length barrel firing 62gr M855 ammo.

Werewolf
March 25, 2004, 09:44 AM
Uhhhhhh....

What's an ACOG?

Old Fuff
March 25, 2004, 10:06 AM
And to think I thought Smith & Wesson models were hard to understand ...

RED-DOG 40
March 25, 2004, 10:19 AM
http://www.trijicon.com/user/parts/parts_new.cfm?categoryID=3
Here is the link for ACOG:D

Harry Tuttle
March 25, 2004, 11:12 AM
ACOGs are 1000 dollar piece of kit

if he needs it
why isn't he issued it by his unit?

http://www.riflescopes.com/store/prodinfo.asp?number=TA01NSN
http://www.riflescopes.com/images/TRITA01NSNF.jpg
Trijicon ACOG 4x32

Details