New to loading AR15

PDA

Mikewb
December 4, 2013, 10:53 PM
Hi I have been reloading for a while but only for Pistol. I am new to reloading for AR15,
I have bought myself a Stag15 16in barrel with 1.9 twist, I have some Horn2276b
224 55g FMJ projectiles. Have been told Hodgdon CFE223 powder is good to use around 26.3 Grs. All though I read most people load with ADI powers AR2206H & Bench Mark

Reading a lot of threads have not seen too much info about this powder and a bit reluctant to use it. Hodgdon reloading dater only gives info on Remington reloading,is this the same for Stag arms?

I think I understand all the other info about ORL and cases but would be very grateful for any other info, bit nerves about reloading for the first time for rifle messing with some quiet high pressure.

If you enjoyed reading about "New to loading AR15" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
December 4, 2013, 11:29 PM
A friend of mine used some CFE223 with his AR-15 and found it to be as accurate and shoot to the same point of aim as H335 and AA2230? powders. He is very pleased with the performance of CFE223. I can't give any load advice as I haven't used it but he probably started in the middle and worked up accordingly. Good luck.

119er
December 5, 2013, 12:28 AM
Hey Mike,
I'm interested in CFE223 as well and plan to try it after I go through my last 8lbs of H335. I am about to do a 2000 round runs so that should just about do it.