Trouble accessing this site


April 7, 2014, 04:52 PM
Over the past 12 hours, I've had intermittent trouble getting into this site. I checked my internet connections and all of my other sites and web pages load fine. Here I get a message of cannot connect to this page. Right now, as I type this, it took 3x to get in and all of the links and ads are not functioning.

This is not a gripe, just a head's up.

If you enjoyed reading about "Trouble accessing this site" here in archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join today for the full version!
April 7, 2014, 06:18 PM
Have you tried clearing your cache and cookies?

April 7, 2014, 06:28 PM
I cleared them, which I do on a regular basis.
I posted this in case anyone else had a problem.
If there's a pattern then you guys can check it out.
If it's just me then it's my problem, lol.

April 7, 2014, 06:44 PM
Yup, this is the place to post it to find out.

I've had problems...mostly e-mail the past and I also posted a thread here to see if it was just me

April 7, 2014, 07:34 PM
Since my last post 1 hour ago, I've been unable to get into THR.
Every other bookmark worked fine.
I had emptied my cache and cookies, as mentioned, before the problem.
I won't continue to post these issues since it would be redundant.
However, I just wish to mention it here in case others have an issue.
Just trying to help.

April 7, 2014, 07:37 PM
I'm not having any problems.

April 7, 2014, 07:40 PM
It could be my service.
I have optimum, if that helps.
Just only THR is the thing that confuses me.

April 8, 2014, 03:24 PM
I'm also in CT, on Optimum, and been having the same issues....

April 8, 2014, 03:29 PM
I have had a problem getting to the log on page. This has been going on for 2 days. I thought it was my internet provider.:what:

Derek Zeanah
April 8, 2014, 08:08 PM
When you run into problems, what error message are you seeing?

April 8, 2014, 08:19 PM
Next time it happens I'll post a snapshot.

April 8, 2014, 08:33 PM
here's 2 snapshots of a partially loaded page.

This happened a few minutes ago when I clicked an email link. Note the missing buttons and none of the features worked in the reply box (pic 2). This did not clear up or fully load after a few minutes like the old days of dial up. ( (

Derek Zeanah
April 8, 2014, 10:36 PM

We store images on a content delivery network, and it looks like you're connecting to it.

I'll poke around a bit, but I don't know what I'll find (if anything)...

April 9, 2014, 05:28 AM
Ok, it took 10 minutes to get on this morning.
Here's the capture of the message, which is a standard one.
Note the URL at the top, I was clicking a link from email to this thread. (

April 9, 2014, 06:08 AM
One last capture showing some other unusual stuff. (

Derek Zeanah
April 9, 2014, 08:38 AM
Well, it may be DNS related. Let me rejigger the DNS servers this week and we'll see if things get better.

It's still weird though.

Mal H
April 9, 2014, 10:27 AM
larryh, have you tried a different browser other than IE to see if it is browser related?

April 9, 2014, 12:53 PM
Could it be related to the death of IE 6 ;)

[link removed]

Maybe they are in mourning?

April 9, 2014, 03:34 PM
I think you figured it out.... kind of.
I am writing this thru Mozilla.
The site popped right up, no issues while my IE browser is still half loaded.

Maybe IE 6 had some strings that were lost when they killed it?
I'd bet that's what is going on. It makes sense.
I use IE9 as my main browser.
If this keeps up I may switch it.

Mal H
April 9, 2014, 04:05 PM
You were using IE6??!! No wonder you were having problems.

9mm - I deleted the link in your post. My security program said it was a toxic website.

April 9, 2014, 04:26 PM
lol, I am using IE9, not 6.
I don't know if you were being funny or read it wrong.

I was thinking some strings in IE6 were deleted but were still needed in IE9.

April 9, 2014, 04:32 PM
Sorry, my security didn't ping at all.

I hate web browsers, because just when I get mine the way I like (Firefox), I have to change over to something else (Chrome) just to optimize how shows are streamed

April 9, 2014, 05:17 PM
I just pulled up THR in IE 11 (11.0.5 to be specific) and I had no issues. The fact that you had no issues accessing THR through Mozilla pretty much assures that your issue is IE 9. You can still get IE 9 from Microsoft. I'd try uninstalling and reinstalling IE 9. If that doesn't work, perhaps upgrade to IE 11.

Mal H
April 9, 2014, 05:46 PM
"I don't know if you were being funny ..."

I was. You'd be having far more problems than just accessing THR. :)

April 10, 2014, 05:45 AM
Also having the same problem but across the board as far as browsers. Also in CT and also have Optimum both at home and at work. Same results on both services.

Chrome, Firefox, and Opera all give an error that they can't even find with annoying frequency. Also getting the same partial page loads Larry has shown in his screenshots. Every other link or page works fine.... :scrutiny:

I thought it was just my 30-million year old work PC finally going senile but it seems to happen on all my PCs/tablets at home too.

One of the mods piss off an Optimum employee? lol :rolleyes:

April 11, 2014, 09:26 AM
My link to THR takes me into reloading forum. I been refreshing the page thur and today, friday, to get into the forum. But not every time. Not a major problem for me. Using Windows 7, IE 11.0.5, Running some Tracking Protection software & Do not track request is turned on. I did not clear the cache. This morning at about 9 am eastern time is what i saw. Not a problem for me, just info for you. Thank you.

April 15, 2014, 07:50 PM
I just want to mention that I have been 100% "online" since the 12th. No issues of any kind whether thru email links or thru the site.

If you guys did something, thanks.
If IE did something, then it worked.
If no one did anything, well, thanks anyways!

Derek Zeanah
April 16, 2014, 06:12 AM
Awesome. That means it was a DNS issue on our end.

Thanks for pointing it out.

April 16, 2014, 07:42 PM
All good here also. Thank you.

April 16, 2014, 10:11 PM
I had some problems yesterday, but so far all is good today.

April 17, 2014, 08:05 AM
I am using Flock and I am having problems logging in at times too.

Sam Cade
April 17, 2014, 10:32 AM
I am using Flock

Does anyone still support that?

If you enjoyed reading about "Trouble accessing this site" here in archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join today for the full version!