Leupold STD 1-Piece


PDA






The_Armed_Therapist
May 4, 2014, 07:09 PM
Hello, All,

I have a sporterized Mauser (.30-06) that is using a Leupold STD 1-Piece base with Leupold rings. Every time I come back from shooting, the little windage screws are a little bit loose. At the time I bought them, I was assured that they are not a problem; and indeed, I have not had a problem with "zero" since installing it. However, the fact that they are always a tad loose worries me. I did some looking around before purchasing this base, and it appeared as if this was my only real option. So, my question is:

Are these bases, with their windage screws in the rear of the base, problematic? I'm very curious. If I were to NOT tighten them after every range trip, then would it be a given that my system would eventually be thrown way off POI?

Thanks

If you enjoyed reading about "Leupold STD 1-Piece" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
witchhunter
May 4, 2014, 10:35 PM
You could Loctite em if they keep coming loose. I have never had a problem with em though. Use the blue kind of Loctite., not red

The_Armed_Therapist
May 5, 2014, 10:06 AM
OK. I used Loctite on the other screws, but wasn't sure if it was a good idea on the windage screws. I'll probably only do that if I can find out that others do it, and it's fine. LOL

But I'm glad to know you've never had a problem with it. Thanks!

OpticsPlanet
May 5, 2014, 04:11 PM
How much torque are you using? If I recall correctly, the windage screws use something like 60in/lbs...

Chase B.

Kp321
May 5, 2014, 04:29 PM
The latest Leupold bases come with the windage screws already treated with thread lock so apparently someone has had a problem. Before LocTite some smiths would drill the base from the rear and install set screws to lock the windage screws. Blue LocTite is a much better solution.

jmr40
May 5, 2014, 07:34 PM
The ONLY reason to use that type of mount is if the mounting holes on your rifle are not in line with your barrel. If that is the case your scope may run out of windage adjustment before you can get it zeroed. On this rifle, this is a real possibility so it may be a good idea to use them. This was more of a problem years ago, especially with mounting holes that did not come from the factory.

Otherwise I hate those mounts with a passion and I simply wouldn't use them on a modern rifle. On an older, classic gun if they were needed I'd use them. If a new rifle were so poorly made that it needed them I'd return the rifle as defective. This is a common problem, among others.

If it were my gun I'd try something else first. If I found I needed them for the adjustment I'd use them with locktite on the threads. And keep a close eye on things.

The_Armed_Therapist
May 6, 2014, 04:52 PM
How much torque are you using? If I recall correctly, the windage screws use something like 60in/lbs...

Chase B.

To be honest, Chase, I don't know what this means. :o

The ONLY reason to use that type of mount is if the mounting holes on your rifle are not in line with your barrel... If it were my gun I'd try something else first.

It's a sporterized VZ24. I looked all over for mounting options, but this seemed like the only real option. I wish I could remember the details for why I went this route, though, but I don't. I believe it seemed to be specifically drilled for this mount.

OpticsPlanet
May 7, 2014, 11:37 AM
Torque is a measurement of turning force. For our application, we typically measure torque in inch-pounds. Each bolt on a mounting system will have a recommended specification for torque, or how tight said bolt should be. I believe the specification on the windage screws of the Leupold STD base is around 60 inch-pounds. The exact spec should be on the packaging of the base. Now, 60 inch-pounds is a lot of torque, much more than we typically use on most bases and rings. So, you might not be applying enough torque to those screws. The only way no know for sure is to get a torque wrench...
Check out this blog I wrote a while back (http://www.opticsblog.com/2013/03/first-attempt-at-scope-mounting.html). I mounted up a FFII on my Savage 116 with a Leupold STD base.

Chase B.

Outlaw Man
May 7, 2014, 10:55 PM
Chase, I thought it was 45 in-lbs? I don't have a package in front of me, but it should be on there.

Still, that's potentially a bit more than what you're using.

The_Armed_Therapist
May 7, 2014, 11:45 PM
Interesting. Surely I was afraid to tighten them too much and do irreparable damage. I'll definitely look into that!

OpticsPlanet
May 8, 2014, 01:44 PM
It could be 45 in-lbs, but I know Leupold places the spec on the packaging. Best thing to do is get a good torque wrench. I like the Wheeler Fat Wrench. Weaver manufactures a good one as well.

Chase B.

Outlaw Man
May 8, 2014, 04:17 PM
The Fat Wrench is the one I use, too. I honestly don't know what I did before I got it.

That, and a set of gunsmithing bits or drivers are almost mandatory for any home "gunsmith."

If you enjoyed reading about "Leupold STD 1-Piece" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!