Clay shooting : choosing my first gun - Suggestions?

PDA

Dr.Wong
May 12, 2014, 01:48 AM
Hi everyone,

I'm new to the sport of clay shooting. It's something I used to do as a kid with my old man (many years ago), and only at adventure parks and the like. I've never owned a gun and I'm busy with my license etc at the moment.

Over the weekend I found a gun dealer close to my home. The guy behind the counter was really great and even offered to take me to a range before I buy a gun to make sure I'm comfortable and then offered to show me the ropes once I've got all of my gear.

I've been doing some reading on what guns are best for beginners etc, but I'd like to know from you veterans what the truth of the matter is.

The guy suggested I get a Silver Pigeon as my first gun. He also showed me a few Brownings and spoke about Miroku but he was dead sure that the Pigeon is the one for me. Is this overkill? I don't mind spending money on a good gun, but as with all sports you often make the wrong decisions when you're starting out and once you know a thing or two you realize you should have done things differently.

He also showed me guns with adjustable chokes. Is this something that I'll wish a had a few months down the line?

If you enjoyed reading about "Clay shooting : choosing my first gun - Suggestions?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
blue32
May 12, 2014, 04:34 AM