AR-180B Problem

PDA

Stephen1956
July 13, 2014, 08:01 PM
Yes I got stuck with on of these in 2006 my fault should have done some research but that $525.00 price looked good. I cut the fake muzzle break off all the way but now I want to put a flash hider on it. But since the Gunsmith and myself couldn't figure out how get the barrel off we couldn't get it on. So what if I was to have it bored out to .625" the barrel diameter and put red Loctite on it does any one thing it will work.

If you enjoyed reading about "AR-180B Problem" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Sam1911
July 13, 2014, 08:08 PM
You might want to read this thread over on AR15.com:

http://www.ar15.com/archive/topic.html?b=3&f=62&t=486291

Stephen1956
July 13, 2014, 08:32 PM
Thanks, Sam I'll check it out.

Stephen1956
July 13, 2014, 08:41 PM
I'd already checked that out and I used to be a Machinist but have no access to the equipment to make it and I don't have $50 to pay for the tool. I got the Loctite idea from a guy at Coyote School 180b review and that's the way he did it. He just didn't cut the muzzle break off. If you get a chance Google it, very good article. But I'm kind of into with Armalite over the hinge pin seems recoil will break it their suggestion pay Stormwerkz $80.00 for the metal on. My suggestion they buy it didn't design the rifle, they did so it's up to them. But thanks for the help I'd like to just change the barrel I've read it can be done.

Sam1911
July 13, 2014, 09:08 PM
Oh, well as long as you don't do a lot of mag dumps it should probably be fine. (By a lot, maybe not even one...don't know exactly how hot red locktite has to get to loosen up, but barrels will set wood stocks on fire after really prolonged firing.)

Stephen1956
July 14, 2014, 09:32 PM