crowning a chrome lined barrel?


PDA






Darren
April 18, 2004, 09:07 AM
Does anybody know if I crown a chrome lined barrel on my lathe will it cause the chrome lining to chip or flake? Thanks guys......

If you enjoyed reading about "crowning a chrome lined barrel?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Jim K
April 18, 2004, 10:42 PM
It could, and it will certainly remove the chrome on the crown. I would not do it unless there was no other choice to restore accuracy.

Jim

Traveler
April 19, 2004, 09:40 AM
If you guage the speed correctly, have a sharp tool, and cut from the inside out, you should be okay. Unless you are taking off a large amount (1/4" or more) I don't see a problem.

If you enjoyed reading about "crowning a chrome lined barrel?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!