We still have a fighting chance in Iowa...


PDA






Redstate
May 26, 2015, 11:08 AM
http://iowafc.org/blog/2015/05/24/weekly-legislative-update-omnibus-firearms-bill-tied-to-state-budget/

If you enjoyed reading about "We still have a fighting chance in Iowa..." here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Darkbob
May 26, 2015, 09:20 PM
Yes we do! If you are an Iowan, click on the link near the top of the page on the Iowa Firearms Coalition website (linked above) and send the prepared message to your legislators!

Note: You will need to give out some info like e-mail and address. After I sent the message out I was contacted by my Senator (Liz Mathis) and she asked me which parts of the Omnibus Gun Bill I'm most interested in. She has contacted me before regarding other IFC campaigns, so I know that the legislators at least get the messages.

After having no movement in the Senate after so long, I had pretty much lost hope. Now, well, my fingers are crossed.

Redstate
May 26, 2015, 11:40 PM
I heard the democratic senate voted against the spending bill this morning (again) which included the 2A language and now we are back to the drawing board.

I've lost all hope withe the dem libs in charge in the senate

Redstate
May 28, 2015, 09:30 AM
Please email these legislators on our behalf...


10 Legislators to Determine the Fate of the Omnibus Firearms Bill


Just as we predicted, the 2015 Standings Bill (and consequentially the Omnibus Firearms Bill) has gone to a conference committee. For more details on what a conference committee is read our most recent weekly update. In a nutshell it means 10 legislators have been picked to essentially decide the future of the Omnibus Firearms Bill. Those 10 legislators are:

Chuck Soderberg, Kraig Paulsen, Linda Upmeyer, Kirsten Running-Marquardt, Chris Hall
Robert Dvorsky, Mike Gronstal, Pam Jochum, Bill Dix, and Jack Whitver

The decision these 10 legislators settle on will almost certainly decide whether or not Iowans see any significant improvements in our Second Amendment rights this year.

It's been 5 years since we've had any major improvements to Iowa's firearms laws. Year after year after year we've been told "Sorry guys. We'll get that done next year." They've done this to our Stand Your Ground bill, Constitutional Carry, legalizing suppressors, gun owner privacy protection, repealing the youth handgun training ban, and more. Every year it's the same thing "Sorry. We'll definitely get that done next year." We need you to make sure these 10 legislators get the message loud and clear:

Promises of next year aren't going to cut it! We've heard that before and we know where it gets us. Pass the Omnibus Firearms Bill in its entirety THIS YEAR.

Here's the email addresses for each of the Conference Committee members. Let them know you've waited long enough.

chuck.soderberg@legis.iowa.gov; kraig.paulsen@legis.iowa.gov; linda.upmeyer@legis.iowa.gov; kirsten.running-marquardt@legis.iowa.gov; chris.hall@legis.iowa.gov; robert.dvorsky@legis.iowa.gov; mike.gronstal@legis.iowa.gov; pam.jochum@legis.iowa.gov; bill.dix@legis.iowa.gov; jack.whitver@legis.iowa.gov


Iowa Firearms Coalition is an entirely volunteer, grassroots, Second Amendment advocacy group. Responsible for bringing uniformity to Iowa’s Concealed Weapons Permitting process, IFC’s members work to protect and enhance Second Amendment rights in Iowa. An affiliate of the National Rifle Association, the IFC actively seeks to foster and promote the shooting sports. Sign up for our email list for the latest on Second Amendment issues in Iowa. You can support our work by becoming a member, or making a donation.


http://www.iowacarry.org

If you enjoyed reading about "We still have a fighting chance in Iowa..." here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!