Recommended .380 bullet for defence?

PDA

steve454
March 21, 2016, 06:39 PM
I am getting my CHL and have a .380.
I've been told that some bullets don't expand reliably.
What is a good round that I can buy at Academy or Gander Mountain?
Nothing exotic and I don't reload.
I am a novice so please don't use terms and abbreviations that I wouldn't understand.
What should I use?

If you enjoyed reading about "Recommended .380 bullet for defence?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
GetmeoutaCT
March 21, 2016, 06:46 PM
I recall reading somewhere recently that the Winchester Silvertip in .380 expanded well and reliably. Of course this still leaves the .380 as a marginal self-defense round, but still much better than nothing.

BSA1
March 21, 2016, 06:52 PM
A good friend and I each own the exact same model semi-auto pistol.

He carries Jacketed Hollow Point (JHP) commercial ammunition in his gun. He wants a expanding bullet for greater tissue damage.

I carry Full Metal Jacket (FMJ) in my gun. I want deep penetration to ensure the bullet will reach vital areas inside the body.

We both think we are equally well armed.

I am not trying to be a smart aleck. There is no agreement on what type of bullet is best for the .380 (and whether the .380 is enough for self-defense). I frequently suggest watching the videos on youtube by Shootingthebull done by Ammo Quest. They are very well done.

ROAshooter
March 21, 2016, 06:59 PM
Academy will carry Hornady Critical Defense in 380...many have faith in it doing the job....my wife uses it in her Browning 1911-380

kokapelli
March 21, 2016, 07:11 PM
Just go to this website and be sure to watch the video

http://shootingthebull.net/blog/final-results-of-the-380-acp-ammo-quest/

joem1945
March 21, 2016, 07:23 PM
I load Federals HP in mine.

justin22885
March 21, 2016, 07:50 PM