Received my Ohio CHL today- positive and negative

PDA

Jackthelad
June 1, 2004, 10:12 PM
Received my Ohio CHL today. One of the proudest moments of my life. Our law recently passed and was active April 8th. I found it somewhat odd that despite having only 2 residences since birth- (I am 37), I am currently bonded to $5,000,000.00 dollars for work- (I am an escrow officer for a large title company and have access sending and receiving wires), On any given day, I handle between 1.5-3 million dollars, I have had bi annual background checks run throughout my 12 years with the company - (criminal, credit, legal, financial), am subject to random drug testing, have been fingerprinted for my job- not only for my company, but for various large clients throughout the years, have NEVER been stopped by the law- not even a speeding ticket or parking ticket driving for 21 years, it STILL took 5 days longer than the maximum allowed by state law to issue my license. Honestly, look at the facts above coupled with the fact that my training was 21 hours- 9 more than the requirement from the oldest rifle club in the area with NRA certified instructors. For some odd reason, I would think that my background check should have been pretty quick. I picked my license up and was told it was "Conditional upon them receiving a clean record from the juvenile courts". Fer the love of GAWD! I gave those folks everything except my marriage license and a copy of our pooch's vaccination records! I always thought I was a good risk. Maybe I am becoming a real rebel as I approach middle age- or at least look like one. Maybe I will put some intimidating motorcycle stickers on the back of our mini van. Thanks for letting me vent. I hate to take it personally- but I did.

If you enjoyed reading about "Received my Ohio CHL today- positive and negative" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Standing Wolf
June 1, 2004, 11:37 PM