Advice on Getting a Gunsafe up a Flight of Stairs??

PDA

Omaha-BeenGlockin
February 13, 2003, 11:45 AM
Got a new gunsafe in the 600lb range----everything went well untill the stairs.

I live in an apt on the 2nd level---8 to 10 lousy steps-----but this monster is clearly beyond the capabilities of my buddy and me and a 2-wheeler.

OMG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! this thing is heavy!!!

Its now sitting in my mom's garage----ggggggggrrrrrrrrrrr. Make that GGGGGGGGGGGGRRRRRRRRRR!!!!!!!!!

Short of hiring a couple gorillas---is there a better way to get this thing in there?? The stairwell is big enough---it's just the weight and bulkiness of the thing. As you can tell---I'm not a professional mover.

Would prefer not to hire someone I don't know---our business had a similar small move a couple years ago----the following weekend after the move the place was broken into and cash box was taken---nothing proven----but very fishy---don't you think?? They knew exactly where to go.

So besides Gorrilas Are Us-----any ideas???

Thanks

OBG

If you enjoyed reading about "Advice on Getting a Gunsafe up a Flight of Stairs??" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
MrAcheson
February 13, 2003, 11:49 AM
They make special hand carts for moving heavy objects like refridgerators. Try to go rent one of them. Otherwise hire some gorillas ^H^H^H^H movers.:D

Jack19
February 13, 2003, 11:59 AM
Will your upstairs floor bear the weight?

Greg L
February 13, 2003, 12:02 PM
Appliance two wheeler and a bunch of friends. Pizza and beer works well as bribes to get them there.

Greg

Sleeping Dog
February 13, 2003, 12:04 PM
Gorillas, absolutely. If that thing slips ...

You should be able to find out if the Gorillas are bonded, any Better Business Bureau complaints. If not bonded, check references.