Subtle And Interesting Psychological Impact of CCW

PDA

Cosmoline
August 25, 2004, 03:03 PM
I've been packing off-and-on for many years now, and since the advent of Vermont carry in Alaska I've been packing even more. I've noticed my attitude towards the world and its dangers has slowly changed, though I don't know how much of it is due to CCW and how much to other factors.

For one thing, I find I don't worry about being mugged. This sounds pretty obvious, but over time it has an impact. I carry a lot more cash now than I ever did before. Sometimes I'll cash my entire check and carry many C notes around in my wallet. There's no atm out in the sticks where I live so it's more convenient.

For another, I find I have less interest in the "thin blue line" that I used to view as protection. When I lived in Oregon and was an anti (yes, I was an anti) I had a great deal of tolerance for police arrogance because I viewed them as my protectors. Now, I'm so far away that there's simply no chance they'd be there in time to protect me. They'd take hours finding my unmarked road. I accept this and it's fine, but on the other hand I find myself questioning why I need to pay for all these troopers and LEO's cruising around. I'm not sure I have an answer, and in a society where most everyone is already armed I'm not sure there is a good answer.

I find I'm less suspicious of strangers. I'm not picking up hitchhikers or anything, but I do find I'm less nervous around strangers than I used to be.

Anyone else notice psychological changes along these lines?

If you enjoyed reading about "Subtle And Interesting Psychological Impact of CCW" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
George Hill
August 25, 2004, 06:29 PM
To quote a certain cigarette ad.... "You've come a long way, Baby!"

*applauds*

Correia
August 25, 2004, 06:54 PM
This is gun related, so I'm moving it out of RT.

dev_null