Yoopers, please help

PDA

jefnvk
August 29, 2004, 03:12 AM
I just moved up here to the UP. Houghton to be exact, and yes, I am now a college student. Anyway, I need some help in finding a gun range in the Houghton area in which I can shoot my toys. It seems that the school only wants me shooting my .22 and handguns on their range. So, any help would be appreciated.

And I also need some fishing and duck hunting spots. but I know that those locations are sometimes more secret than nuclear missle silos :D

If you enjoyed reading about "Yoopers, please help" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Blackcloud6
August 29, 2004, 09:00 AM
Heck, most of the UP is a gun range. There should be plenty of National Forest land to go shoot on.

5ptdeerhunter
August 29, 2004, 11:50 AM
So are you attending Michigan Tech? I was thinking of going there. But I went with a different major. Where do you keep your firearms? Can you keep them in your room or do they have a place for you to lock them up?

jefnvk
August 29, 2004, 12:14 PM
Can you just shoot anywhere on state or national land?

For storage of guns, they have a weapons locker in all of the dorms.

ACP230
August 29, 2004, 01:06 PM
There's a range outside Chassell on the Chassell-Painesdale Road. It's at the Portage Lake Sportsmen's Club.
Probably the closest to you. It used to have student rate memberships and still might. It has .22 silhouette on Thursdays, and IDPA on Tuesdays. There may be a Highpower Rifle Match in October. Sporting Clays and Trap are held on other nights. The range has a pistol pit and a covered pistol and rifle shooting area.