My Patrol Rifle

PDA

j.wise
September 1, 2004, 01:43 AM
I am a Police Officer for a mid-size suburb of Dallas. Not one of the affluent suburbs, but not a rat-hole either. My department issues Mini-14s (stainless Gov't models) with two 20rd mags to each officer. I am also authorized to carry a personally-owned rifle in my squad car, if I so choose. The department has some understandable guidelines for personally-owned rifles: 9mm to 30-30 (no .308), back-up irons must be "immediately" useable if an optic is also in place, etc...

I currently carry a Bushmaster XM-15E2S LEO rifle in addition to the Mini-14. I trust it far more, it is much more accurate, I have additional mags for it, and I have it set up better for my duty assignment (deep nights shift.) It is equipped with an Eotech, co-witnessed with BMAS flip-up iron sights. I have an M3 Illuminator attached to the picatinny gas block, Bushmaster 2-stage trigger installed, and it sports the lighter M4 profile barrel.

http://www.photopeg.com/peg/pic.php?u=328BV9fC&i=3027

I couldn't think of a better rifle for what I do than this one. I have played with many other rifles, but it is my strong belief that none other can touch my rifle.

Any dissenting views, or better choices? I have tried to top it, but am at a loss. Remember, I can't go up in caliber to .308, and the rifle must have iron sights immediately accessible.

For other LEOs, what do you carry (other than shotguns)?

If you enjoyed reading about "My Patrol Rifle" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Sactown
September 1, 2004, 02:36 AM
You could be different and carry an AK-47. Criminals would know you mean bidness because, "AK-47 - The very best there is. When you absolutely positively gotta kill every mf'er in the room - Accept no substitutes."

Nice patrol rifle. I'd ditch the Mini-14 as well, or add some grip tape on the barrel and use it as a baseball bat. :D

arinvolvo