1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Article in Tampa Tribune (FL)

Discussion in 'General Gun Discussions' started by steverjo, Sep 6, 2009.

  1. steverjo

    steverjo Well-Known Member


    In Sunday's Tampa Tribune (FL), the above article appeared on page 1. Overall, it appears to be a fair and unbiased account of the increased permits being issued by the State of Florida. I find it intersting that the agency processing the permists is looking to add 61 additional employees to handle the increased work load.
  2. rbernie

    rbernie Well-Known Member

    The article:
  3. SFB

    SFB Well-Known Member

    I am currently waiting patiently on my permit.. But I find it funny that the estimated time for a permit is 3-5 months when it only took them one week from the time I sent it to cash my check.
  4. chuckusaret

    chuckusaret member

    Confusing, you don't need a permit to carry a weapon in your car in Florida other than where disallowed by Florida Statute. To place the weapon in the closed glove box meets the securely encased requirement.

    Wrong again, not all people have to take the class. Prior military need only to provide a copy of their DD214 to meet the class requirements. The fee is not $118.00 it is $117.00. Note of interest; By applying thru one of the regional offices it has been found that the overall waiting period for the permit is reduced by as much as thirty days. The regional offices will also assist in the application process and fingerpriniting requirements according to the West Palm Beach Fl. regional Office.
    Last edited: Sep 6, 2009
  5. SFB

    SFB Well-Known Member

    Active duty military only needs to provide a copy of your military ID. Also the state fee is only $75.00, plus the cost of fingerprints. If you get digital prints done it is about $6 +/- cheaper than the ole ink and paper ones.
  6. scurtis_34471

    scurtis_34471 Well-Known Member

    In order to be protected from employer action, you have to have a Concealed Weapon License to keep your gun locked up in your car at work.

    Having a license also removes some of the restrictions on how a gun must be carried in a car.

    Having a license also exempts you from the three-day waiting period.
  7. chuckusaret

    chuckusaret member

    Sir, I suggest you read Florida Statute 790.251. Protection of the right to keep and bear arms in motor vehicles for self-defense and other lawful purposes; prohibited acts; duty of public and private employers; immunity from liability; enforcement.--
  8. thorazine

    thorazine Well-Known Member


    He knows about the great big conspiracy!!

    At least he can protect his family with that trusty baseball bat or golf club.
  9. brboyer

    brboyer Well-Known Member

    Chuck, In the first quote, he is correct and in the second he is refering to the ability to carry it on your person only being allowed if the individual has a CWFL.

Share This Page