1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

CCW vs Purchase Permit

Discussion in 'General Gun Discussions' started by armedpolak, Jul 10, 2006.

  1. armedpolak

    armedpolak member

    Jul 5, 2006
    How about states that don't require a permit to purchase a hand gun? Basically you just walk into a store a pick one. How about waiting period? Background checks?

    Does anyone have a list of such states? How does that relate to CCW shall-issue?

    Please help. I'm tryign to research this, since I plan on moving the F**K out of new york city, and into a place where I will not have to explain myself as to why I want to carry a hand gun, and much less having to explain why I want to guy one!

    Also, to clarify, shall-issue means that once I pass the state standard requirements, state/local authority has no discression on issuing a CCW permit, basically they can't deny it, right?
  2. Bruce333

    Bruce333 Participating Member

    Aug 22, 2005
    Smithfield NC
  3. hnk45acp

    hnk45acp Active Member

    Jun 29, 2006
    In NYC for a carry permit you have to show need ie: Security job, carrying cash valuables, etc., victim of stalker, etc. or you need to be Howard Stern or Donald Trump
  4. DragonFire

    DragonFire Active Member

    May 26, 2004
    Shall-Issue means that the local authority has to show cause why they are denying you a permit, as opposed to you showing cause why you want one and they granting it at pretty much their whim. There are lots of reasons a local authority can use to deny you a permit. (there's at least one thread here where a guy was denied because of too many speeding tickets)

    There is a difference between owning a handgun, and being able to carry one concealed. Some places differeniate between being able to possess it in your home, or in your car vs. out in public. The best idea is to figure out where you're thinking of living and then research that area's specific regulations.

    In upstate NY, most counties require you to state a reason for wanting a concealed permit, but in varies from county to county as to how much of a hassle they put you through. Except for a 3 month wait (relatively pretty short) I got my permit with no trouble at all.
  5. Frandy

    Frandy Participating Member

    Jan 6, 2005
    Well, if you're looking to move to a state that let's you carry most anywhere, don't move to NC. With all the limitations and restrictions on where one can and can't carry, I find myself unarmed most of the work week.

    I work at a major corporation and there is no way I can petition to change their policy. No way.

    So, I can't legally have a firearm in the parking lot or in the building. That means from the time I drive to work until the time I get home (with my travel on interstate), I am unarmed unless I want to violate the law.

    Not good. :banghead:
  6. Desk Jockey

    Desk Jockey Member

    Mar 1, 2006
    NE Florida
    Purchase Permit?? Is that what it's called when your wife gives you permission to spend another $500? ;)

    If you want to buy a gun in Colorado, you show your in-state ID, fill out the form, wait 20 minutes for the background check to clear, hand over the payment and walk out the door with your new toy.

    I don't have a CCW, but as I understand it, the process involves demonstrating proficiency with a handgun (most commonly by taking an 8-hr NRA class), filling out the application at the local Sheriff's office, getting fingerprinted, paying about $150, and waiting a couple of weeks. As long as you're not a felon, a drunk, drug user, or subject to a restraining order, you're pretty much guaranteed a CCW.
  7. Valkman

    Valkman Mentor

    Jul 31, 2003
    North Las Vegas, NV
    With my CCW (here in NV) I show it, my drivers license, fill out the paperwork, pay and leave with the gun. No NICS. Sweet.

    I do not get to carry it, however, unless I qualify with it, then go down to the CCW place and apply for it to be on the permit. $25, wait for the new permit and THEN I can carry it.

    Here they cannot deny you a carry permit unless you fail the background check. Take a class, qualify with the guns you want on the permit, hand in paperwork with $105 and wait a few months. :)
  8. rms/pa

    rms/pa Member

    Dec 30, 2002
    no permit needed in pa to purchase,own or shoot at a range or other allowed location .

    permit is needed to carry loaded, in car or at all in Phila.

    shall issue permit system. Phila is a pain.

  9. mp510

    mp510 Senior Member

    Feb 13, 2006
    Connecticut requires a CCW permit to purchase or carry. We are almost shall issue, and are usually labeled as such. However there is a clause in the law that allows the CLEO of your town (who you apply to for your temp. permit, which is used to get the state permit) to reject your application IF he finds you not to be a suitable person, which he has full authority of deciding.
  10. The Real Wyatt

    The Real Wyatt Member

    Jun 24, 2006
    South Central KY
    How it is in Kentucky

    Here's a possible scenario.

    Walk in to a gun store and look around. See something you like in a handgun and make the decision to purchase it. Look around at holsters for the gun, try 'em on and see how your new potential gun is gonna fit. Find one you like and decide to purchase it as well. Take all your purchases back to the counter. Ask for a box of ammo for your new handgun.

    You're about four minutes away from walking out the door with your new handgun strapped on. Fill out some papers ... 'bout a minute. The salesperson will call it in ... 'bout two minutes. Meanwhile you're putting on your new holster, loading up the gun and dropping it into the holster, outside your clothes and clearly visible, of course ... you don't have a CCW yet. Pay the man ... 'bout one minute. Walk out the door wearing your new gun.

    You can go about anywhere you wish whilst wearing your new gun; to a restaurant for a steak and a beer (can't go into a bar only, though), to Walmart to buy some more cartridges for your new gun or to Kroger to get some hotdogs and marshmallows for the weenie roast you've planned for this evening.

    No one looks at you strangely, no one cares. See that State Trooper over there? Go say howdy, ask him how he's doing; he doesn't care. Just recently I spent over 30 minutes just chatting with several State Troopers whilst carrying openly. I didn't feel strange one way or the other about it and neither did they.

    The 2nd amendment is alive and well here in Kentucky and for the most part, freedom still exists.

    Getting a CCW permit takes about six weeks though. You take a one day training course ('bout 80 bucks) and wait about a week or so for your training certificate to arrive in the mail. Once your certificate arrives, take it down to the local Sheriffs office and show it to them, fill out some papers and give 'em 60 bucks. In about 4 weeks you'll get a notice from the State Police that your CCW is waiting for you at the Sheriffs office. Go down and pick it up. 4 years and nine months from now you need to go see the Sheriff again and give 'im another 60 bucks. Rinse and Repeat.


    Feb 24, 2006
    I used to live in Texas you did not need a permit to purchase and there is not waiting period, there is a back ground check and you need a ccw to carry.
  12. modifiedbrowning

    modifiedbrowning Senior Member

    Dec 25, 2002
    Bozeman, MT
    In Montana there is no purchase permit, no waiting period and a CCW allows you to bypass NICS. Also concealed carry is legal outside of towns, mining camps and logging camps. Concealed carry is defined as "being covered by clothing" so, a concealed firearm in a vehicle is perfectly legal.
  13. atlctyslkr

    atlctyslkr Member

    May 2, 2006
    Atlanta, GA
    No permit to purchase required in Georgia. It's called a Firearms License here. Must have license to be in posession of a loaded handgun outside of your home or business (there are a few exceptions but not worth listing). License will exempt you from the NICS check. Last time I bought a gun it was before the NICS exemption and the background check took a whole 2 minutes. Paid, tried my new purchase out on the shop range and left.
  14. sevesteen

    sevesteen New Member

    May 10, 2006
    My wife and I bought a pistol in Ohio a few months ago. Filled out a form, showed ID, gun shop guy made a phone call. From the time we said "this one" to the time we were done was about 15 minutes. This was before we got our CHL's, wouldn't make a difference as Ohio CHL doesn't count as a NICS check.

    Can't recommend Ohio yet as a pro-gun state. We've got shall-issue CHL, but with stupid rules for car carry. Loaded gun in a car must be either in a holster on your person in plain sight, in a locked container in plain sight, or in a locked glove box. A gun is considered loaded if ammo is "readily accessible" which has been defined as being in the same range bag.

    Check again early next year-A fixit bill has already passed one house, will likely pass the other soon after elections, and both leading gubenatorial candidates say they will sign.
  15. mnrivrat

    mnrivrat Senior Member

    Dec 24, 2002

    A permit to purchase or a CCW Permit is required on purchase of handguns and so called "assault" rifles like the AR`15. No permit for other long guns , just the NICS check at purchase.

    The permit to purchase is good for a 12 month period , the CCW is good for a 5 year period and requires a training certificate (usualy a one day class) , but is shall issue for all who pass the normal requirements to own a firearm.

    There is no waiting period for purchases when you have a permit (or are purchasing a regular long gun) , and the NICS check is is done at time of purchase taking only a few minutes.
  16. gezzer

    gezzer Senior Member

    Aug 15, 2004
    NH state drivers license or ID, walk in shop pick gun fill out 4473, pass background check done by State Police, pays your money walk out with pistol. NO CCW or purchase permits needed. Open carry legal except for no loaded in a MV.
  17. DoubleTapDrew

    DoubleTapDrew Mentor

    Feb 23, 2006
    In Oregon it's pretty easy. I can't believe some poor souls in this country actually need a permit to purchase a gun. It's no longer a Right to Keep and Bear Arms when you need permission to do so.
    My last purchase took about 7 minutes once I decided I wanted the gun. 5 minutes for me to fill out the form, and 2 minutes on the phone to verify I passed the background check.
    I remember when I was younger (about 15 years ago I think) the media actually called the waiting period a "cooling off period" when they were trying to pass it, as if all gun buyers are angry homicidal maniacs that want to get a gun and go out and immediately kill someone (usually a spouse after a spat according to them). Yeah...because that kitchen knife is just too far away huh? Give me a break :barf:
  18. carpettbaggerr

    carpettbaggerr Participating Member

    Nov 13, 2003
    VT is the closest to NYC. Maybe 3 hours up I-87. No permit required there to purchase or for concealed carry.
  19. Diomed

    Diomed Member

    Apr 19, 2006
    Virginia has no permit needed for purchase or open carry. No wait aside from the NICS delay. You're limited to one handgun per month though, unless you have a CHL. Thanks again, Governor Doug. :rolleyes:
  20. AirForceShooter

    AirForceShooter Senior Member

    Oct 31, 2004
    Central Florida
    no ccw. walk in fill out the form and buy it, wait 3 days to pick it up
    With a CCW no wait.
    I escaped NYC with my DD-214


Share This Page