1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

IDPA: Pulling back hammer in DA/SA semi-auto out of the holster?

Discussion in 'Competition Shooting' started by Gabes220, Nov 20, 2012.

  1. Gabes220

    Gabes220 Active Member

    Hello everyone,

    Hopefully someone can clear up the rules here for me. At a recent match, I witnessed a competitor do something interesting at a COF.

    On the buzzer, he removed his Beretta m9 from its holster, presented the pistol to the first target, and used his weak hand to cock the hammer of his pistol. This allowed him to begin engaging targets in single action as opposed to taking that dreaded double action first shot.

    Is this legal per IDPA rules? If not, what sort of penalty would be incurred?

    Thanks for the info.

  2. Sam1911

    Sam1911 Moderator

    That's perfectly legal. He started the stage with the gun in its decocked position. No different than if he was shooting SSR or ESR and decided to cock the hammer for a single-action shot.

    It's slow and should be unnecessary, but there's no penalty for it. (Except the one he's imposing on himself by not having the skill to break the first shot correctly.)
  3. 9mmepiphany

    9mmepiphany Moderator

    Besides not being against the rules, there is a greater disadvantage to this than any possible advantage...unless you weren't being facetious about the dreaded DA first shot.*

    Not only is it not more accurate, an average shooter should be able to place 3-4 shots on target in the time it takes to follow the procedure you have described.

    * If you were serious, I'd refer you to the second link, on shooting technique, in my signature
  4. Gabes220

    Gabes220 Active Member

    Definitely not serious. Shot a Sig 220R as a Sharpshooter in IDPA and USPSA for a couple years before switching to SSP with a glock 34 classified as Expert. Thanks for the help though.

    The competitor I'm referring to always attempts to win the "most accurate" award at my club by having the least number of target points down. In a 6 stage match he'll have around 5 points down but be towards the bottom in terms of ranking. That's how he competes.... so more power to him I guess.

    I was SO'ing him when he performed that maneuver and I wasn't sure what to make of it. I guess I shouldn't worry about it.
  5. 9mmepiphany

    9mmepiphany Moderator

    It's been a while since I've seen it, but there used to be a school of thought that you should put the first round into the berm to get to the SA trigger press.

    It is certainly faster than thumbing the hammer back, but it plays havoc with your capacity/shots needed. I could even see it argued that it could be a FDR call...either as "round dumping" to get a favorable slide lock reload or that it isn't something you'd do on the street...I think the first would be a easier argument, the second is weak, as this is still a game
  6. David E

    David E Well-Known Member

    Gunsite used to teach, and may still, cocking the hammer with the off side thumb during the presentation. It really doesn't take that long.

    But it's quicker to master the DA pull and shoot that way. Folks have outshot the single action guns before using DA/SA guns, it just takes someone serious enough to learn how. That said, it's not that difficult to learn.
  7. Bovice

    Bovice Well-Known Member

    Most IDPA shots aren't that far, a DA pull on one shot isn't really a dealbreaker.
  8. David E

    David E Well-Known Member

    True, but I'm constantly amazed at how few people take the time to master the DA pull.

    More times than not, if someone claims to be "good with a revolver," it turns out they're cocking the hammer for every shot.
  9. Hoser

    Hoser Moderator

    Our last indoor ICORE match, we let semi autos play as well, a Smith 627 beat all the bottom feeding semi-autos at the match. Getting used to a DA trigger just takes time.
  10. David E

    David E Well-Known Member

    But not a lot of time. It really just takes the desire to learn to master it.
  11. Ankeny

    Ankeny Well-Known Member

    Yup, getting used to a DA trigger doesn't take a whole lot of time. But as a slow learner it took me a long time to literally "master" a DA trigger.
  12. Hoser

    Hoser Moderator

    Time will tell if I can Master a DA trigger. My goal for 2013 is to make GM in Revo...
  13. twofifty

    twofifty Well-Known Member

    on setting goals

    Setting a goal (like Hoser who wants to make revo GM in 2013) is a great way to improve one's shooting.

    My own shooting improved after a metallic silhouette champion introduced me to his discipline. He said to pick a small attainable goal, and to work at that - of course leaving room for the free-spirited fun of shooting and plinking so that you don't burn out. He said to attain that first goal, then to set another; to build up gradually on a series of small successes.

    My first goal was to learn to accept a good enough rifle sight picture and to release the shot. Once I learned to take the da*n shot (i.e. stop dawdling along waiting for the perfect sight picture) I set several other goals. Two years later the winner's trophy ended up on my mantlepiece. Nothing earth shattering: it was for my local F&G club's position shooting rifle league.

    All this to say that in shooting like in life goal setting is a fine way to go.
  14. splithoof

    splithoof Well-Known Member

    Cooper called the technique of wasting a round down range as the "shot-cock". I have enjoyed reading about such antics, and really laughed when I saw it done at an event, leading to an instant DQ.
  15. waktasz

    waktasz Well-Known Member

    How is that a DQ unless he puts it into the dirt at his feet or over the berm?
  16. David E

    David E Well-Known Member

    It's more advantageous to "waste" the first shot into the center of the target.
  17. splithoof

    splithoof Well-Known Member

    It was the principle of the action; rather than strive to become proficient with his sidearm, the participant wasted a round of ammunition that could have been necessary to solving the problem.
  18. waktasz

    waktasz Well-Known Member

    So a made up rule then? Sounds awesome.
  19. Hoser

    Hoser Moderator

    I guess it was not actually an IDPA match then. Just kind of an IDPA style match.
  20. Gabes220

    Gabes220 Active Member

    A DQ seems a bit extreme. I could see and FTDR though.

    Sent from my SPH-D710 using Tapatalk 2

Share This Page