1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is this post a fake?

Discussion in 'NFA Firearms and Accessories' started by OneWound, Aug 30, 2014.

  1. OneWound

    OneWound Well-Known Member

    I was browsing through Armslist seeing what to drool over, and I came across this post http://www.armslist.com/posts/3441745/iowa-nfa-firearms-for-sale--transferable-colt-sp1. Now, I have a couple of questions. First, is this a sting operation? The price seems way to low for a RR AND this post is in Iowa, which does not allow civilians (without proper manufacturing licenses) to own NFA weapons. Second, do you report it to Armslist so some idiot doesn't try to buy it and ends up becoming friends with the Feds for 10 years?
  2. Ron James

    Ron James Well-Known Member

    A little curious about the time frame, he said he brought it brand new 4 yrs. ago, when was the conversion done ? prior to 1986 or 4 years ago?
  3. OneWound

    OneWound Well-Known Member

    If it was four years ago, it's either illegal or a post-dealer sample. I did a Google search of Qualified Manufacturing and it looks like they are out of Texas. I saw nothing else on them, no website or anything. By law, if you have an 02/07 do you have to make your own stuff or can you outsource it?

    Another question is that are SP1's made today or were they discontinued around the 1960's?
  4. Sam1911

    Sam1911 Moderator

    SP1s have been around since the very beginning of AR history, so it certainly could have been converted before '86. Makes total sense.

    How he lawfully owns it in Iowa? Doesn't seem possible. Several possible scenarios including someone who moved into the state and never filed his 5320.20 to notify the ATF (who would have said, "Not so fast...").

    I doubt it is a sting, because what would be the point? They'd have to try and go for a Form 4 transfer and the dealer would go ballistic.

    Or, he could have somehow goofed up his ArmsList entry. He misspelled "AR" for goodness sake. And I don't think "Iowa, Iowa" exists, so the city isn't right, at least.

    I guess I'd hit the report button and at least let ArmsList know he's got it screwed up. Maybe contact him and ask that question directly.
  5. OneWound

    OneWound Well-Known Member

    Sam, you are correct that Iowa, Iowa doesn't exist. The closest thing to that is Iowa City, Iowa or the county of Iowa. I am going to contact him, but what do I ask him? How he acquired it? Manufacturing date? Is it a post-dealer sample (and can I ask him for a copy of his 02/07 if he answers yes to this question)?
  6. Sam1911

    Sam1911 Moderator

    Oh, well, you can ask him whatever you want, of course. :) Whether he answers or not is anyone's guess.

    I think I'd be very frank, "Hi, I was under the impression that machine guns and other Title II firearms are not legal to own in Iowa. How can I purchase this legally?"

    Not that you are really interested in purchasing it, of course, but that looks a lot less confrontational than, "Hey dumb-(butt), that's illegal!!! What are you some kind of BATF agent jackboot sonofagun trying to bust folks??!?"

  7. OneWound

    OneWound Well-Known Member

    Well, thanks Sam and everyone else. I did end up sending him an email, and as well I will use this for other posts (I have seen a post that was similar in question legality). I'll post updates when I get them.
  8. Field Tester

    Field Tester Well-Known Member

    My guess is that he mis-listed it.
  9. Midwest

    Midwest Well-Known Member

    I checked the link this evening and saw this notice.

    " Home Iowa NFA Firearms For Sale: Transferable Colt SP1
    The community has spoken! This listing been flagged as a scam. For more information review our flagging policy.

    Out of curiosity, how much were they asking for it?
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2014
  10. Aaron Baker

    Aaron Baker Well-Known Member

    I think the asking price was $10k when I looked.

  11. Ron James

    Ron James Well-Known Member

    You work your butt off for a dollar, and there' s always some SOB who wants to steal that dollar. I was still very young when I learned that lesson. I didn't lose my trust in my fellows humans, but I always cut the cards.:evil:
  12. OneWound

    OneWound Well-Known Member

    I never got a reply from that guy, so who knows how it ended up.
  13. ddc

    ddc Well-Known Member

    Armslist is littered with scams.

    What often happens is the scammer finds a legitimate ad on a legitimate site such as gunbroker and then just copies the text and photos into an armslist ad.

    When you see an ad on armslist that seems suspicious do a google search of some of the text and you just may find the cloned ad on gunbroker.
  14. Jim K

    Jim K Well-Known Member

    The post has been deleted as a scam by the site owner.

  15. plodder

    plodder Well-Known Member

    I have a nearly unbelievable Armslist story:
    I bought a NFA item I first found on Armslist sight unseen from an out of state, private party seller and the item was as advertised and shipped exactly per terms of the agreement. (yep, unbelievable I know)

    Seriously, I did conduct a lot of research and internet "stalking" of the seller before I kissed my money goodbye and I certainly began sleeping much better after it went through transfer #1 and ended up at my FFL so that I could get my grubby little hands on it, even though it is still in "jail".

Share This Page