1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SCAM alert- gunlistings.org

Discussion in 'General Gun Discussions' started by Motega, Jun 17, 2012.

  1. Motega

    Motega Well-Known Member

    This guy took photos from a current gunbroker auction :


    and then created a fake listing at http://www.gunlistings.org/colorado...fs_colt_python_elite_6_stainless__.357_magnum

    I contacted the person and they sent me a fake military ID and asked me to send a $1200 money order to

    ADDRESS: 302 S.RUSSELL St. Apt #3
    ZIPCODE: 62907

    and called my prepaid cell with a number that came up gave the phone number : 314-338-4617. He called my cell phone with that phone number so apparently it is a working number, I'm sure a prepaid cell impossible to track.

    I called the county sheriff and the deputy I spoke with said they don't have the manpower to pursue it.
    I asked the guy to take a photo of himself holding up his phone number and I would run right out to my bank that is open on Sunday and get a money order, hopefully his greed will overcome his common sense and I will be able to post a photo of this thief.

    Be on the lookout for anyone using any combination of these credentials.Whatever you do though, don't let your sense of decency or justice prompt you to call that cell phone at all hours of the night, that wouldn't be very nice.

    Attached Files:

  2. Salmoneye

    Salmoneye Well-Known Member

    Love it!

    Keep up the good work!
  3. hjh45acp

    hjh45acp Member

    Very good work. I am glad you followed up almost got burned once my self.
  4. rcmodel

    rcmodel Member in memoriam

    Did you report him to Gunbroker and Gunlistings?

    And maybe the Department of the Army and Homeland Security.

    Using a fake military ID is real serious business anymore!!

    Postol inspectors might have an interest too since he wants you to mail him a check.

    Also, look at the guys other auction listings.

    He lives all over the country!

    Last edited: Jun 17, 2012
  5. Crusader103

    Crusader103 Well-Known Member

    Your local sheriff's office may not have the manpower but Army CID (Criminal Investigations Division) probably will. They do have the capacity and authority, as well as a strong interest, to go after the perp whether civilian or military based upon his use of the purported military ID.

    Either call the Army post nearest you or try these:


    It is a listing of all CID commands nationwide.
  6. Sig Bill

    Sig Bill Well-Known Member

    I seen that before but I don't remember where from. It's the same scam (same name and pic) and had been reported but I'm surprised it's going again.
  7. monet61

    monet61 Well-Known Member

    I'm really glad that you guys know how to spot these dirtbags and inform us.
    Most of us, I'm sure, don't think of scams when we see something that seems to be legit.
    Anyhow, thanks.
  8. rcmodel

    rcmodel Member in memoriam

    I also noticed on Gunlistings.org there is no way to view the sellers feedback from previous sales.

    I would avoid an auction site that doesn't show seller feedback ratings like the plague!!!

  9. cpt-t

    cpt-t Well-Known Member


    Motega: I can`t agree more on calling the CID. The Cid has helped me many times and they have the resources to presue this matter at a different level than local or state lawenforcement. I will be very surprised if they will not help you. The CID has helped me many times and there many talents are just outstanding. Just call your nearest ARMY POST and ask to speak to them. GOOD LUCK TO YOU: ken
  10. paintballdude902

    paintballdude902 Well-Known Member

    it is now illegal to photo copy a military id. the layout is completely wrong.....

    forward it to the fbi
  11. steveno

    steveno Well-Known Member

    I know my military ID didn't have "Geneva Convention Identification" on it. unless that is something new that would have been the first thing that I noticed. the fact that it had a woman's name for what looks like a guy unless it is pronounced different.
  12. That seems strange My old laminated active duty and reserve cards from over 20 years ago had that on it in the border on the bottom and several .mil sites show several samples of the newer cards with the same thing as the picture above has (save they have "Conventions" instead of "Convention"):


    And some pictures of the older style ones:
    http://bsidneysmith.com/images/self/military id.jpg

    Looking at some old ones online, it looks like they added it to DD Form 2A (the ID card) sometime between the form revisted 1959 (the ones that didn't have it) and the one revised in 1979.

    Maybe they removed it for awhile?
  13. Motega

    Motega Well-Known Member

    I am going to follow up as suggested with CID... unfortunately for this guy I just had back surgery and have all the time in the world to track him down. I asked for the photo of him holding his phone number and he said he wasn't at home "so I had my wife do it". This is going to the sheriff in the AM and I will start the ball rolling with other authorities. It is possible this is in fact the scammer, or it could be a naive (or not so innocent) friend. Hopefully I'll get another photo out of him and maybe the local sheriff can put the 2 faces together somehow.

    Attached Files:

  14. steveno

    steveno Well-Known Member

    I was got out of the air force in 1973 so I guess things have changed. there was no such things as a bar code on them
  15. sgtt2786

    sgtt2786 New Member

    The ID card says he is a Sergeant which is E-5 pay grade not OF3 ??? If that's a picture of his wife, he is already being punished!! LOL Now she is involved in the criminal activity as well, oh well keep us advised and thank you.
  16. Snowdog

    Snowdog Well-Known Member

    Wow, this is interesting. Keep us apprised!
  17. That would explain it. My guess is that they must have updated it in 1979 to add that then. It would made sense they didn't update the form from 1959 until 1979. I'm not sure when they added the barcode and all the other features
  18. rcmodel

    rcmodel Member in memoriam

    I noticed that too.

    OF3 is the NATO equivalent of an Army Captain (Pay grade O-3 or OE-3).

  19. Robert

    Robert Moderator

    I am going to sticky this thread for the time being so we can all keep track of developments. Good on ya for busting this guy!
  20. Motega

    Motega Well-Known Member

    it really "Grinds my gears" (to steal an expression from Peter Griffin) that he emailed about a half dozen other photos showing the same soldier he is pretending to be. On base, etc. If you Google "fake military ID" the same person is shown in a bunch of photos. It's especially shameful that someone is using the likeness of a man in our military to commit these acts of fraud. I don't want to upload the other photos to further spread his face around the internet. Gunlistings has blocked his IP and address and he didn't respond to my second request for a photo of himself but I'll try again to get him to send another photo.

Share This Page