1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Suppressor law changes in MO with HB.294?

Discussion in 'NFA Firearms and Accessories' started by ErikO, Jul 10, 2011.

  1. ErikO

    ErikO Well-Known Member

    If I understand it correctly, as of 9/29 I can purchase and own a suppressor with zero interferance from the Missouri government?
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2011
  2. Tirod

    Tirod Well-Known Member


    Adding this link which helps little: http://www.nraila.org/Legislation/Read.aspx?ID=6986

    I hope I posted a true version as the law link is titled truly agreed.

    I'm aware of some provisions the press has mentioned, but being a lazy surfer, I'll let others point out the change the OP inquired about. Apparently the concern is that the previous requirement to hold a BATF license to legally possess a suppressor - satisfied with a C&R in MO - is no longer a requirement?

    I'm still churning thru the language and surfing.

    Ahh, a Gemtech webpage that spells it out more clearly - NO C&R necessary now: http://www.gem-tech.com/blog/?p=365

    I guess there was some reason I left the application on my dresser the last 6 months after all. Now all I need is for Vltor to offer the Volks - or apply to make my own out of freeze plugs and pipe. I can be really cheap. ;)
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2011
  3. I checked this out with my local gun store today. You are correct. There is no need for a C and R license. You will still have to apply for the individual license for each silencer get finger printed and have the sherrifs department sign off on the permit. But it is much easier than before although you will still have to wait the 4 months to get the permit from the feds.

    This still great news for Missourians!


Share This Page