1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What are the different classes?

Discussion in 'NFA Firearms and Accessories' started by FIVETWOSEVEN, Apr 28, 2010.


    FIVETWOSEVEN Well-Known Member

    I know that Class III is a dealer for LE and Military but what are the other classes?
  2. Sunray

    Sunray Well-Known Member

    Class III is a whole bunch of assorted firearms and devices.
  3. PTK

    PTK Well-Known Member

    01FFL 03SOT (incorrectly called "class three dealer" is a dealer in title I and title II (NFA) items other than DDs. They don't deal with just LE and .mil.

    FFL types
  4. Sam1911

    Sam1911 Moderator


    As PTK says, Class 03 refers to the Special Occupational Tax that a Type 001 FFL (dealer) has to pay in order to be allowed to SELL firearms and other items that must be registered under Title II of the NFA'34.

    Class 02 is the SOT for manufacturers of those items.

    Title II of the National Firearms Act of 1934 covers:
    1) Machine Guns
    2) Short Barreled Rifles
    3) Short Barreled Shotguns
    4) Silencers/Suppressors
    5) Destructive Devices (including non-sporting rifles over .50 cal, bombs, grenades, explosive weapons, chemical weapons, etc.)
    6) "Any Other Weapons" (pen guns, cane guns, smooth-bore handguns, pistols with a vertical fore grip, and other oddities)

    So, you go to a "Class 03 Dealer" to buy "Title II-regulated" firearms. There is no such thing as a "Class 03" gun.
  5. TexasRifleman

    TexasRifleman Moderator Emeritus

    Sam's post should be a sticky. In addition:

    Title I firearms are "the usual".
    Title II are NFA.
  6. Quiet

    Quiet Well-Known Member

    FFL (Federal Firearms License)
    Type 01 = dealer of Title 1 firearms
    Type 02 = pawnbroker
    Type 03 = Curio & Relic collector
    Type 06 = manufacturer of ammo
    Type 07 = manufacturer of Title 1 firearms
    Type 08 = importer of Title 1 firearms
    Type 09 = dealer of destructive devices
    Type 10 = manufacturer of destructive devices
    Type 11 = importer of destructive devices

    SOT (Special Occupational Taxpayer)
    Class I = importer of Title 2 firearms
    Class II = manufacturer of Title 2 firearms
    Class III = dealer of Title 2 firearms

    SOT status is used in conjunction with the corresponding FFL.
    For example...
    Type 01-FFL Class III SOT = dealer of Title 1 & 2 firearms
    Type 07-FFL Class II SOT = manufacturer of Title 1 & 2 firearms

Share This Page