Quantcast
M+M m10 how to change out the rail system? - THR
THR  

Go Back   THR > Tools and Technologies > Rifle Country

Welcome to THR
You are currently viewing our site as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions, articles and access our other FREE features. By joining our free community you will have, access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!


If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please visit the help section.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old November 9, 2014, 03:28 AM   #1
Sobel
Member
 
 
Join Date: May 21, 2011
Location: Orlando
Posts: 418
M+M m10 how to change out the rail system?

So I'm interested in changing the stock , pistol grip , and hand guard. I tried to use the gas tube lever and its impossible to move. Then I realized the handguards are held together by hex screws, lacking a hex key I didn't attempt to do anything but it appears that they may be stripped. So my question is 1. Any ideas on why the lever is almost impossible to move? 2. If the latch wont move, even if I manage to remove the handguards would I be able to put a traditional handguard on or should I give up hope and keep the rail on? 3. If the hex keys are stripped how would I get the handguards off?
Sobel is offline  
Old November 9, 2014, 12:45 PM   #2
Fishbed77
Member
 
 
Join Date: November 23, 2010
Posts: 2,412
Use the slot on your AK cleaning kit container to get the leverage to turn the gas tube lever.
Fishbed77 is offline  
Old November 9, 2014, 01:22 PM   #3
Jackal
Member
 
 
Join Date: March 9, 2006
Location: Northwest Washington
Posts: 2,748
It will move, you just have to "talk" to it...
Jackal is offline  
Old November 10, 2014, 02:23 AM   #4
Sobel
Member
 
 
Join Date: May 21, 2011
Location: Orlando
Posts: 418
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jackal View Post
It will move, you just have to "talk" to it...
I tried solving the language barrier with what the Russians would call a "молоток" gently tapping on it with a wash cloth folded between. It decided it would move, about 5mm. I'm wondering if I brought it by a gunshop they wouldn't have anyone who could help. I didn't get a cleaning kit with my rifle. So I don't have that little tool.
Sobel is offline  
Old November 10, 2014, 02:55 AM   #5
Inebriated
Member
 
 
Join Date: March 25, 2011
Location: NC
Posts: 2,952
Are you trying to rotate it upwards, clockwise? That's the way it should go. Don't be gentle, you really do have to hit the thing on some AK's. If you do want to take it to a shop, don't let them charge you anything.

If the bolts are stripped, you have a multitude of options, but cross that bridge when you get there.
Inebriated is offline  
Old November 10, 2014, 04:48 PM   #6
Sobel
Member
 
 
Join Date: May 21, 2011
Location: Orlando
Posts: 418
Quote:
Originally Posted by Inebriated View Post
Are you trying to rotate it upwards, clockwise? That's the way it should go. Don't be gentle, you really do have to hit the thing on some AK's. If you do want to take it to a shop, don't let them charge you anything.

If the bolts are stripped, you have a multitude of options, but cross that bridge when you get there.
you think a mallet would work? I don't want to break it. It almost seems like it was bent inward to stop it from moving maybe? I may just be crazy.
Sobel is offline  
Reply

Tags
handguard, m+m m10


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Optimisation by vB Optimise.
This site, its contents, Shooting Reviews, and its contents are Copyright (c) 2010-2013 Firearms Forum, Inc.
IMPORTANT DISCLAIMER
Although The High Road has attempted to provide accurate information on the forum, The High Road assumes no responsibility for the accuracy of the information. All information is provided "as is" with all faults without warranty of any kind, either express or implied. Neither The High Road nor any of its directors, members, managers, employees, agents, vendors, or suppliers will be liable for any direct, indirect, general, bodily injury, compensatory, special, punitive, consequential, or incidental damages including, without limitation, lost profits or revenues, costs of replacement goods, loss or damage to data arising out of the use or inability to use this forum or any services associated with this forum, or damages from the use of or reliance on the information present on this forum, even if you have been advised of the possibility of such damages.