Quantcast
148 gr vs 158 gr bullet for 38 sp - THR
THR  

Go Back   THR > Ammunition, Gear, and Firearm Help > Handloading and Reloading

Welcome to THR
You are currently viewing our site as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions, articles and access our other FREE features. By joining our free community you will have, access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please visit the help section.

Old July 29, 2014, 12:31 PM   #1
chiltech500
Contributing Member

148 gr vs 158 gr bullet for 38 sp

I'm new to reloading 38 special and am looking for Bullseye level accuracy.

Am I better off with a full wadcutter 148 gr vs a semi-wadcutter 158 gr in 38 special?

Thanks
Old July 29, 2014, 01:16 PM   #2
ReloaderFred

The short answer is, "yes". The longer bearing surface of the wadcutter bullet enhances accuracy, and the flat nose makes scoring much easier, since it cuts a perfect hole.

For the best accuracy, use hollowbase wadcutters and Bullseye powder. Those have been the Bullseye and PPC favorites for years, and with good reason.

Hope this helps.

Fred
Old July 29, 2014, 02:04 PM   #3
chiltech500
Contributing Member

Absolutely helps Fred.

Does anyone know if the wadcutters Dardas sells are the hollow, they have an H&G and a "double bevel" base. Tried to call got message machine.

Thanks
Old July 29, 2014, 02:05 PM   #4
sbrader

I don't know about the Dardas. Precision Delta sells a 148 gr. HBWC.

Maybe not technically a noob any more, but always a student.
Old July 29, 2014, 02:11 PM   #5
rcmodel
Contributing Member

Quote:
Does anyone know if the wadcutters Dardas sells are the hollow
No, they are not.

You won't find many bullet casters selling HBWC.