Quantcast
Dial calipers off = long 223 cases - THR
THR  

Go Back   THR > Ammunition, Gear, and Firearm Help > Handloading and Reloading

Welcome to THR
You are currently viewing our site as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions, articles and access our other FREE features. By joining our free community you will have, access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!


If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please visit the help section.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old August 1, 2014, 06:33 AM   #1
devils4ever
Member
 
 
Join Date: July 14, 2014
Location: NJ
Posts: 31
Dial calipers off = long 223 cases

I measured all my once fired 223 cases with my trusty Mitutoyo dial calipers that I've had for decades. All cases were less than 1.750". Great. So I pressed in the primers. Then, I noticed that the dial wasn't reading 0.000 when closed. It was off by 0.015" or so. ARGH.

I just bought the Hornady dial calipers and found that some of the cases are longer than the max of 1.760" by some 4 to 5 thousandths.

I'm not sure how to safely trim these now that the primers are in. I have 2 bolt action rifles, no autoloaders.

Any ideas how to trim these safely? Or, will these chamber correctly?

Thanks.
devils4ever is offline  
Old August 1, 2014, 06:53 AM   #2
jwrowland77
Member
 
 
Join Date: April 8, 2012
Location: Central Arkansas
Posts: 1,598
Lock them in your bench trimmer and trim. As long as you're using a conventional trimmer, you should be fine, since nothing will be go that far down in the case.

After trimming, just chamfer and deburr with the case upside down, that way no shavings get in the flash hole. At least that's what I've done.
jwrowland77 is online now  
Old August 1, 2014, 07:13 AM   #3
cfullgraf
Member
 
 
Join Date: October 19, 2010
Location: East TN
Posts: 5,170
Quote:
Originally Posted by devils4ever View Post
It was off by 0.015" or so. ARGH.
You should be able to adjust the dial back to zero when the jaws are closed. There should be a lock on the dial. Nifty feature that allows you to make comparative measurements on things by zeroing the dial at any jaw position..

As long as you are not using a trim system such as the Lee system, trimming should be fine. The ls trimmer measures through the flash hole which is not possible with a primer in place.

Another watch out, if you use a L E Wilson trimmer, use caution inserting and removing the cases from the case holder. When tapping the case into the holder, you might hit the primer by mistake.
__________________
Chuck
Real trucks don't have Otto cycles.
My mustang is green fueled, four on the floor and all terrain.
cfullgraf is offline  
Old August 1, 2014, 07:30 AM   #4
devils4ever
Member
 
 
Join Date: July 14, 2014
Location: NJ
Posts: 31
I have the Lyman Universal bench trimmer. There is a spring loaded ball that goes into the emtpy primer pocket in the holder. Since I have the primers in place, I'm a little nervous about putting in the case and pressing against it while trimming. Is this safe?

My calipers were off by 15 thousandths or more and was varying by a few thousandths every time I closed them. I no longer have any confidence in them.
devils4ever is offline  
Old August 1, 2014, 07:37 AM   #5
WelshShooter
Member
 
 
Join Date: June 10, 2014
Posts: 28
You can decap the primers out very carefully. I've done this for over 200 rounds and all went bang when used. You have to be very gentle while doing it though.
WelshShooter is online now  
Old August 1, 2014, 08:36 AM   #6
243winxb
Member
 
 
Join Date: July 7, 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 6,114
This - You can decap the primers out very carefully. Then reinstall them after trimming.
243winxb is offline  
Old August 1, 2014, 09:17 AM   #7
devils4ever
Member
 
 
Join Date: July 14, 2014
Location: NJ
Posts: 31
I can reuse the same primers after pushing them out?

I have removed live primers in the past using the resizing die on my press, but I don't like doing it. I'm tempted to just seeing if they'll chamber in my rifles. The longest is about 1.765".
devils4ever is offline  
Old August 1, 2014, 09:21 AM   #8
jmorris
Member
 
 
Join Date: September 30, 2005
Posts: 5,303
One reason I like a case gauge, like a standard, it never loses zero.
__________________
"My right to swing my arm ends at the tip of your nose." Joe S.
jmorris is offline  
Old August 1, 2014, 09:46 AM   #9
spitballer
Member
 
 
Join Date: December 20, 2013
Location: Central FL
Posts: 362
I still use my original Lee trimmer with an electric drill. It trims to about 1.75". Afterward I spin the chamfer tool a couple of times before taking it loose from the shellholder. Simple and easy.

Sorry, just got the gist of your message - primers already installed. If it were me, I'd sacrifice the primers.

Last edited by spitballer; August 1, 2014 at 12:01 PM.
spitballer is offline  
Old August 1, 2014, 10:52 AM   #10
rg1
Member
 
 
Join Date: May 26, 2006
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 870
Also, if 'zero" isn't in the correct place at the top of the dial you can take the caliper apart, rotate the gear teeth and get it back to position. Possibly the gears have slipped a tooth? Takes a tiny screwdriver.
rg1 is offline  
Old August 1, 2014, 10:54 AM   #11
Tilos
Member
 
 
Join Date: January 13, 2010
Posts: 569
Know that a dial caliper can jump a tooth, that usually is .020", depending on the dial layout (0.100 or 0.200/rev) a small tool comes with many calipers to set it.
It's a small/thin (0.015") thing that most never know what it's for.
If you don't have the tool a straightened paper clip can be used.

show that caliper some love, clean and lube the rack
if you have the old padded type case, look under the padding for this tool
__________________
Just Sayin'
Tilos

Last edited by Tilos; August 1, 2014 at 11:00 AM.
Tilos is offline  
Old August 1, 2014, 11:24 AM   #12
243winxb
Member
 
 
Join Date: July 7, 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 6,114
Quote:
I'm tempted to just seeing if they'll chamber in my rifles. The longest is about 1.765".
The odds are in your favor that there will not be a problem. Are you feeling lucky?
243winxb is offline  
Old August 1, 2014, 11:36 AM   #13
jcwit
Member
 
 
Join Date: October 19, 2007
Location: Great state of Indiana
Posts: 6,992
One more time, primers are set off by impact, not by slow pressure. Sudden pressure ie: impact by a firing pin sets off the primer.

You will be fine using your trimmer.
__________________
U.S. Army Veteran
1967-1975
jcwit is online now  
Old August 1, 2014, 12:10 PM   #14
carbine85
Member
 
 
Join Date: July 1, 2007
Location: Southwest, Ohio
Posts: 1,320
Maybe I missed something here. Why all the talk about removing primers? Just trim the cases and move on. I don't see a problem.
You said they are bolt guns. I'm betting they chamber and shoot just fine as they are.
__________________

"That's the good thing as a President, I can do whatever I want"
Barack Obama - Americas 1st Dictator
"I ask sir, what is the militia? It is the whole people except for a few politicians."
George Mason (father of the Bill of Rights)
carbine85 is offline  
Old August 1, 2014, 01:15 PM   #15
243winxb
Member
 
 
Join Date: July 7, 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 6,114
Carbine85, the Lyman Universal trimmer needs the primer pocket empty.
243winxb is offline  
Old August 1, 2014, 06:37 PM   #16
GLOOB
Member
 
 
Join Date: September 16, 2007
Posts: 5,006
If your rifle is amenable to a chamber test, I would go that route.

I would measure each one with a good caliper to find the longest half dozen cases. Then I'd test those cases. If they pass, then I'd load those cases with no crimp and try again. If those pass, I'd load and shoot the rest without worry.

If this works, you get a bonus. You can now put off trimming even longer, lol. Write that length down and subtract a little for your new must-trim length.

For all you know, your rifle might be able to handle cases that are 1.785!

I wonder, if your chamber is cut right, and you let your brass grow, can your chamber start acting like an X die to limit the maximum length? Oh, of course not, duh... when sizing, the brass lengthens.

Last edited by GLOOB; August 1, 2014 at 06:46 PM.
GLOOB is offline  
Old August 2, 2014, 06:28 PM   #17
devils4ever
Member
 
 
Join Date: July 14, 2014
Location: NJ
Posts: 31
Okay, I took a chance and trimmed the primed cases without incident. It wasn't easy in the Lyman trimmer since the spring loaded ball wasn't able to fit into the primer pocket. But, I took my time and did it very carefully. Everything went fine. I did about 30 cases this way. Some cases were over 1.770"!

I took a look at my Mity calipers and they did have a small flat tool to reset the zero. I did it, but the zero kept shifting every time I closed them. Something is not right. The Hornady calipers I just bought are right on. They look like excellent quality. I hope they stay that way. Anyone want to buy a non-working Mity calipers?
devils4ever is offline  
Old August 3, 2014, 07:51 AM   #18
gamestalker
Member
 
 
Join Date: September 10, 2008
Location: SW Arizona
Posts: 7,129
Your concern of whether or not they'll chamber isn't really relative as to why we must maintain SAAMI trim lengths.

When a bottle neck case exceeds the SAAMI max head to mouth length, it will very often chamber without any noticeable difference. The reason for trimming brass is because the mouth can get pinched / restricted in the throat during firing. This prevents the mouth from expanding adequately, which creates a pinching effect of the projectile and prevents it from freely leaving the case mouth, that's when pressures can go unpredictably and dangerously high, and why we trim our brass.

Chamber fit, which is what you are referring to is controlled by the resizing die by how far the shoulder is bumped and sized case body diameter. Also, if a bullet is seated to long, in other words, when completed cartridge over all length is to long, the projectile will engage the lands, thus preventing proper chamber fit of a cartridge, this as well can drive pressures up.

GS
gamestalker is offline  
Old August 5, 2014, 05:39 AM   #19
Zeke/PA
Member
 
 
Join Date: February 24, 2005
Location: Southeastern Pa.
Posts: 1,881
Quote:
Originally Posted by rg1 View Post
Also, if 'zero" isn't in the correct place at the top of the dial you can take the caliper apart, rotate the gear teeth and get it back to position. Possibly the gears have slipped a tooth? Takes a tiny screwdriver.
This .015 error probably occurred when apiece of "dirt" in the gears made the dial "skip".
A thin piece of brass inserted properly between the gears will "skip'" the gears to your advantage. Mitutoyo once furnished a similar brass tool with their calipers.
It's a good habit to check the zero on dial calipers before each use.
Zeke/PA is offline  
Old August 5, 2014, 10:05 AM   #20
eam3clm@att.net
Member
 
 
Join Date: December 2, 2010
Posts: 622
It sounds like a good reason to get a WFT to trim your brass. It indexes off the case shoulder
eam3clm@att.net is offline  
Old August 5, 2014, 10:31 AM   #21
jcwit
Member
 
 
Join Date: October 19, 2007
Location: Great state of Indiana
Posts: 6,992
Or a Lee Trimmer set up, I know I like mine better than my Lyman trimmer.

As far as the calipers, get a digital one, they are only 10 bucks at Harbor Freight, ya I know, you need batteries for them, want cheap batteries, buy a couple of those LED pointers/kitty toys, the cheap ones, they use the same batteries. Throw the pointer away and use the cheap batteries, cheaper than buying batteries from Menards or Walgreens or even WalMart.
__________________
U.S. Army Veteran
1967-1975
jcwit is online now  
Old August 5, 2014, 11:12 AM   #22
bmnloader
Member
 
 
Join Date: July 7, 2011
Location: DFW
Posts: 47
Look for a small chip or piece of trash in the gear rack of the calipers. We run into that a lot here in the shop. It doesn't take much. Usually just blow them out and reset the zero with a small paperclip as described above.
bmnloader is offline  
Old August 5, 2014, 11:20 AM   #23
jcwit
Member
 
 
Join Date: October 19, 2007
Location: Great state of Indiana
Posts: 6,992
Careful how and where you blow, I've blown the lens off calibers already.
__________________
U.S. Army Veteran
1967-1975
jcwit is online now  
Old August 5, 2014, 12:07 PM   #24
bmnloader
Member
 
 
Join Date: July 7, 2011
Location: DFW
Posts: 47
Yes you can! A can of air will work or you may need to get a magnifier and look up close to the end of the rack, it won't be very big if it's there. I've got Mitutoyo calipers 20 yrs old that still work fine. They not Starret but close.
bmnloader is offline  
Old August 6, 2014, 12:40 AM   #25
1911 guy
Member
 
 
Join Date: May 5, 2005
Location: Garrettsville, Oh.
Posts: 5,142
I use calipers many times a day at work and have made the habit of checking zero every time i pick them up, even if i have just set them down a minute ago. Same with mics. The standards are right there next to the mics in my box, why not use them?
__________________
I wish I believed in reincarnation. Where's Charles Martel when you need him?

http://forums.bobdunsire.com/forums/index.php
yes, I play the bagpipes. No, I don't wear a skirt. It's called a kilt.
1911 guy is offline  
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Optimisation by vB Optimise.
This site, its contents, Shooting Reviews, and its contents are Copyright (c) 2010-2013 Firearms Forum, Inc.
IMPORTANT DISCLAIMER
Although The High Road has attempted to provide accurate information on the forum, The High Road assumes no responsibility for the accuracy of the information. All information is provided "as is" with all faults without warranty of any kind, either express or implied. Neither The High Road nor any of its directors, members, managers, employees, agents, vendors, or suppliers will be liable for any direct, indirect, general, bodily injury, compensatory, special, punitive, consequential, or incidental damages including, without limitation, lost profits or revenues, costs of replacement goods, loss or damage to data arising out of the use or inability to use this forum or any services associated with this forum, or damages from the use of or reliance on the information present on this forum, even if you have been advised of the possibility of such damages.