Quantcast
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

California Handgun Laws

Discussion in 'Legal' started by Jesse308, Dec 5, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Jesse308

    Jesse308 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Messages:
    136
    Location:
    California
    I know in some states, an 18-year-old can purchase a handgun by a PPT or given one by a family member. I would like to know if this is also legal here in California? I can't seem to find any info on it.

    Thanks
     
  2. Typhoon

    Typhoon Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    247
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    According to the book, "How to Own a Gun and Stay Out of Jail," 2003 California version by John Machtinger, the answer is no. Must be 21 to own a handgun and/or purchase handgun ammo. You can shoot one (temporary possession) but only with parental/legal guardian's consent.
     
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2004
  3. gunsmith

    gunsmith member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2003
    Messages:
    5,906
    Location:
    Reno, Nevada
    I think you

    can buy a rifle of shotgun though-IANAL
     
  4. Typhoon

    Typhoon Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    247
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Yeah, 18 for long guns. Good thing, too. My Dad armed me with a shotgun when I turned 18... Yeah, Dad! (Still have it, but won't admit to how many years later...)
     
  5. magsnubby

    magsnubby Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Messages:
    915
    Location:
    fresno,ca
  6. Jesse308

    Jesse308 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Messages:
    136
    Location:
    California
    Magsnubby, I looked on the DOJ's website but couldn't find any info on what I was looking for. Thanks
     
  7. Librarian

    Librarian Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,464
    Location:
    Concord, CA
    On Cal Atty Gen's Firearms page
    follow the link
    The Dangerous Weapons Control Laws for the year 2004
    then on the next page
    12101 thru 12101 Juveniles

    What is missing is a clear statement 'Minors may....'; there is only a set of 'Minors may not...'. It's risky to conclude that what is not forbidden is permitted, but there we are.

    BTW, 0-17 is "Child", 18, 19, 20 is 'Minor' but not child.
     
  8. EOD Guy

    EOD Guy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2002
    Messages:
    982
    Location:
    Concord, CA
    It is perfectly legal for a parent to give a son or daughter that is over 18 a hand gun as long as that child has a handgun safety certificate. The child receiving the handgun must then register it with the state using a form available at the Cal DOJ web site. I costs $19.00 to register any number of handguns.

    See the link. http://ag.ca.gov/firearms/forms/pdf/oplaw.pdf

    The Penal Code reference is at PC12078(c).
     
  9. armoredman

    armoredman Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    16,214
    Location:
    proud to be in AZ
    California Handgun Laws ... are why I live in Arizona!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page