Quantcast
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Conceal Carry resource thread!

Discussion in 'General Gun Discussions' started by ccsniper, Jan 5, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ccsniper

    ccsniper member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,621
    Location:
    midwest Arkansas
    Lets get a thread with every resource needed for your particular state to get a conceal carry license. List all the websites a person would need to visit, and how much money would be required. Hopefully we can get this thread with all states (that allow CC) and can be used as a resource center for those considering getting their CHL.

    I will start with Arkansas.

    State Police

    http://www.asp.arkansas.gov/divisions/rs/rs_chl.html

    Handgunlaw.us Arkansas PDF

    http://www.handgunlaw.us/states/arkansas.pdf

    wikihow of State of Arkansas

    http://www.wikihow.com/Obtain-a-Conceal-Carry-Permit-Arkansas

    Cost of Conceal Carry course- varies typically $50-$100

    Application fee- $141.50 total includes Background check and fingerprinting.

    Please post your state and the necessary websites to visit. Mods please delete multiples.
     
  2. bdgackle

    bdgackle Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Messages:
    114
    Location:
    Northwest Washington
    Washington State

    Washington State Department of Licensing:
    http://www.dol.wa.gov/business/firearms/faconceal.html

    $52.50 for first time license, $32 to renew after that.

    You just go down to the police station, fill out the form, pay the money, and give some finger prints.

    It is mailed (by law) within 30 days. Renewals must be in person.
     
  3. MedWheeler

    MedWheeler Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Messages:
    4,907
    Location:
    SouthEastern FL
    State of Florida (a "shall-issue" state):

    The site is easy to navigate, and fairly clear. In a nutshell, $112 gets you your license and covers the FBI fingerprint/background check. The license, good for more types of weapons than just firearms, is valid for seven years. Renewals are about $60, if I recall correctly.
    Training requirements are easily met by an approved class, military background (DD-214), law-enforcement or armed-security training, and even some approved hunter-safety courses.

    http://licgweb.doacs.state.fl.us/weapons/index.html

    Information about many other states can be found here: www.handgunlaw.us.
     
  4. Jorg Nysgerrig

    Jorg Nysgerrig Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    Messages:
    7,823
  5. MedWheeler

    MedWheeler Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Messages:
    4,907
    Location:
    SouthEastern FL
    ^^ I think I just did.
     
  6. au01st

    au01st Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    332
    Location:
    Alexandria, LA
  7. ccsniper

    ccsniper member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,621
    Location:
    midwest Arkansas
    IFAIK handgunlaw.us doesn't link to each states government that issues the license/permit.
     
  8. Ehtereon11B

    Ehtereon11B internet infantryman

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Messages:
    983
    Just to add on to what you said for Alabama:

    CCW valid for one year. Renews can be done in person or through the mail, $20. No fingerprints required. 2 or 3 personnel references that can reside outside the county/state as long as they aren't related to you.
     
  9. Gary Slider

    Gary Slider Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Messages:
    480
    Location:
    West Virginia
    ccsniper,

    You stated: IFAIK handgunlaw.us doesn't link to each states government that issues the license/permit.

    I do believe each states page links to the issuing authority, State Statutes, Application and Instructions if available, State Administrative Rules which are usually held by the Sec of State which is why a link to the Sec of State is also listed. Attorney General, states list of permit/licenses they honor if a list is made available on a state website. The St issued CCW Pamphlet if available. What other things can I link to for info provided by the state?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page