Quantcast

Concealed Carry Permit Renewal

Discussion in 'Legal' started by J-Bar, Sep 6, 2018.

  1. LNK

    LNK Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    358
    Location:
    E TN
    How do you keep up with changes in traffic laws? Seems you renew drivers license regularly without retraining. I forgot which amendment covers the right to drive....

    Sorry for being snarky...
     
    .308 Norma likes this.
  2. Madcap_Magician

    Madcap_Magician Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,886
    Location:
    MN
    This is true. I didn't know about there being multiple counties charging less - I know Washington County charges less than the maximum, but living in southern Minnesota, they're a bit of an anomaly. MS 624.714 allows them to charge up to $100 or the actual and reasonable direct cost of processing a new permit application, whichever is less, and of course, in the time-honored tradition of government agencies everywhere, shockingly that usually seems to be... $100.

    If you have an address change, you actually just need to fill out the form with your new address and submit it to the sheriff's office. There is no charge for this, and no requirement for your permit to have your correct address as long as you have notified the sheriff of the move within 30 days of the move. But, if you want a permit card with the corrected address, it will cost you $10, which is also what it costs to have a reprinted permit if yours is lost or destroyed.
     
  3. Texas10mm

    Texas10mm Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2018
    Messages:
    116
    Requiring training weakens the Constitution. Do you need a permit and training to use your laser printer?
     
  4. drband

    drband Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,352
    Location:
    GA
    In GA, Renew 30 days before expiration for a reduced fee. ($40). After expiration is $70. (Think those are the correct amounts).
    They do not send you a notice of any kind.
     
  5. Englishmn
    • Contributing Member

    Englishmn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2017
    Messages:
    225
    In Oklahoma no reminder is sent.
    You can renew online $170 for a 10 year.
     
  6. badkarmamib

    badkarmamib Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,234
    Location:
    Virginia
    VA no reminder is sent. If you renew (I believe) 45 days before expiration, new license picks up when old expires. If you renew before that, new license picks up from date of filing, meaning you pay for the same time twice. Both renewals have cost me, since I wasn't aware the first time, and I think they shortened the window the second (IIRC, it used to be 90 days). But, walk into the courthouse, pay the bribe, turn in a pre-filled-out 1-page form, and walk out. 3-4 weeks later, card in the mailbox.
     
    Darkhorse likes this.
  7. Sistema1927

    Sistema1927 Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    5,716
    Location:
    "Land of (dis)Enchantment"
    Did you even bother to look at the handgunlaw.us web site? There is quite a bit of information there, not just "where you can exercise your permit". As a responsible citizen, I take it upon myself to print out a copy of this information for any state in which I intend to travel. Nobody tells me that I need to do this.
     
    George P likes this.
  8. toivo

    toivo Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,630
    Location:
    New York State
    I used to brag that New York, despite being pretty gun-unfriendly, had lifetime permits with no renewal requirement. That changed in 2013 with the NY "SAFE" Act. Now it's five-year renewal cycles.

    Permits are issued by the county, but renewals go through the State Police. (For some reason they called them "recertification" rather than "renewal.) No new cards, no fees, nothing like that. You just fill out a form, either on paper or online, that lists all the handguns that you own. IIRC, you also check a box that you haven't been arrested, etc. That's it. But for somebody (like me) who owns a lot of handguns, it takes a while. Make, model, caliber, revolver or semi-auto, serial number: it adds up.

    Here's where it gets weird: Even though there's no new permit issued, my county is starting to ask for proof of recertification when you go to add a new gun to your permit. (Yup, we have registration of handguns.) They want a printout of the recert form from the State Police. I've even heard rumors that people whose recertifications were submitted late are being told by the county that their permits are no longer valid, even though the State Police accepted the submission and issued a recertification.

    In other words, it's now a goat rodeo.
     
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2018
  9. J-Bar

    J-Bar Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,820
    Location:
    Springfield, MO
    I appreciate the responses to my question.

    To those who find it more difficult than I to renew your permits, you have my sincere sympathy and respect for enduring those obstacles. A musher in the Iditarod sled dog race race once observed, “Hell, if it was easy everyone would do it!” I admire you folks in difficult states who still make the effort to exercise your Second Amendment rights.

    Thank you.
     
  10. double bogey

    double bogey Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    429
    Location:
    Texas

    You don't have to do a class in Texas to renew anymore. I renewed mine when I was rehabbing a fractured femur and never left my house.
     
  11. AirForceShooter

    AirForceShooter Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    2,777
    Location:
    Central Florida
    Or go to the tax collectors office and walk out in 10 minutes with a brand new CCW

    AFS
     
    George P likes this.
  12. herrwalther

    herrwalther Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2013
    Messages:
    3,906
    In my state/county, I get a letter in the mail about a month away from my permit renewal. Reminds me of the renewal date and the cost. They are experimenting with doing renewals online up to a week before the expiration, haven't tried that process yet. Go by the Sheriff's office, fill out a renewal sheet that basically says my address hasn't changed. Have a seat for 10 minutes, 15 if they are busy. Sign 3 copies of the CCW card, get it laminated for $1 extra. And walk out with it in my wallet.
     
  13. bearcreek

    bearcreek Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    951
    Location:
    NE Ohio
    Removing it? That depends on what state you're in. Some have removed it, some haven't. No state that I know of requires enough training to actually familiarize people with the laws to the point where they could be considered "knowledgeable" on the subject. I teach CHL classes here in Ohio and this state certainly does not require even remotely close to enough class time for students to know what they need to about the legalities of carry here. That kind of thing can't be done in a weekend class, let alone one day, especially considering that things can change in between a person getting their permit initially and time to renew it. People have to keep up with that sort of thing on their own. It's easy to do, as long as folks are willing to pay attention and put in a little effort. Most aren't willing to do that unfortunately. All we as instructors can do is point people to the resources they need to stay informed. It's up to them to take advantage of those resources going forward.
     
  14. bearcreek

    bearcreek Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    951
    Location:
    NE Ohio
    The info that handgunlaw.us provides is hardly "generic". They provide specific information for each state and provide links to the relevant laws for each individual state. IMO, it's the single best legal resource available to someone who carries a handgun.

    You're right about that. My observation has been that, post class, the majority of CHL class attendees do not keep themselves updated or improve their knowledge or skills about weapon legalities or tactics. On the plus side, the folks who don't prioritize improvement are generally less inclined to carry a gun regularly anyway.
     
  15. BSA1

    BSA1 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Messages:
    6,227
    Location:
    West of the Big Muddy, East of the Rockies and Nor
    UPDATED AND EDITED.

    KANSAS Renewal Procedure.

    My license expires next month so the renewal process is:

    I received the renewal form in the mail dated May 30, 2018 in June and my C.C.L. expires on October 28th. So I have 5 months to renew my License.

    I had to get a 2" x 2" color photograph of my face and tape it to the application. Cost; $14.99 passport photo at Walgreens.

    I have to make a copy of my DL or ID card (picture side only) and tape it to the application. Cost; None. I made photocopy at work.

    Fill out usual information about name, address, etc. and answer the same 13 questions that are on Form BATF 4473.

    Go get the Application signed and notarized. Cost; None. I had it done by City Clerk in my nearby Smallville.

    Send the Application and a check for $25.00 by Certified Mail to the Attorney General. Certified letter cost: $6.70. (Oh I also had to provide my own envelope).

    I will then receive a notice from the A.G, (about 30 days according to them) that my application has been approved. But wait not done yet. Now I have to take the approval letter to a Drivers License Examiner Office and they actually make the license. The D.M.V. can charge a fee for this. I don't know if and how much that will be. Cost; ??

    If I send it in after my license expires there is a extra $15.00 penalty fee.

    I fail to renew after 6 months my license is considered permanently expired and can not be renewed.

    So far I have spent $46.69. This does not include gas money, cost of License at D.M.V. and personal time.

    Oh whoever does the C.C. Licenses in the A.G.'s Office does not answer their telephone and does not return phone messages.

    The good news is since I got my license Kansas passed permitless Conceal and Open Carry laws. Since we have family in Oklahoma and Texas I am only keeping it active so I can carry when we visit.
     
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2018
  16. stevehgraham

    stevehgraham Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    574
    Location:
    Florida
    I went to my county tax collector. One person was in line in front of me. The lady took my picture, took my money, and sent me home. It was a breeze. I love Northern Florida.

    Of course, Florida WANTS people to get permits, so they hand them over without childish games and idiotic obstacles. It's not like the states that are FORCED to give people permits.
     
  17. MedWheeler

    MedWheeler Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Messages:
    6,173
    Location:
    SouthEastern FL
    stevehgraham writes:

    The phrase "handed me my new license" is missing. Do they not do that there, mailing them instead?
     
  18. Kaeto

    Kaeto Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2006
    Messages:
    1,511
    Location:
    Lincoln Park, Mi.
    In Michigan the county clerk will send you a renewal notice 6 months before your CPL expires. You can download the form from the States website and print it out. Then after filling it out, but not signing it. You go to your county clerks office with $115.00 and you will sign the form there. They will give you a receipt and you then wait until your new CPL arrives by mail.
     
  19. Frank Ettin

    Frank Ettin Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,334
    Location:
    California - San Francisco Bay Area
    This thread is merely a survey of permit and renewal requirements. I’ve deleted a bunch of off topic posts.

    Please stay on topic.
     
    Englishmn and J-Bar like this.
  20. rskent

    rskent Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,994
    Location:
    The land of blue sky and sunshine
    Don’t forget to send in a passport photo as well. $15 at Walgreens.
     
  21. George P

    George P Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2018
    Messages:
    1,216
    My wife took my photo with a digital SLR camera, uploaded it to the PC and used PICASA to get it the way they wanted it - cost is $0.... ;)
     
    rskent likes this.
  22. Drail

    Drail Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Messages:
    5,441
    The State of Missouri no longer requires a permit to carry open or concealed. The only reason they still "sell" permits is so you can carry in other States that require one.
     
  23. wickedsprint

    wickedsprint Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Messages:
    615
    Location:
    S. Florida
    Florida...renew online. Upload passport format photo.

    Receive new CCW in 2-3 weeks.
     
    rskent likes this.
  24. rskent

    rskent Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,994
    Location:
    The land of blue sky and sunshine
    Wish I would have known that two weeks ago. Would have saved $30 for the photos and whatever stamps cost. I’m sad.
     
  25. bikemutt

    bikemutt Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,398
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA
    Since WA and AZ have already been addressed I'll mention OR where I have a non-resident CHL that I'll be renewing shortly. Each county may have slightly different requirements, Multonomah County (Portland) requires the renewal applicant to show up in person during posted hours, pay a $50 fee and submit an application. I think they also have an additional $5 charge for WA residents. The first-time applicant has to meet substantially more requirements but that's not what the OP inquired about, and those requirements don't apply to renewals. As of now, OR does not send reminders that CHLs are nearing expiration.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice