Quantcast
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Florida Self-Defense Law

Discussion in 'Legal' started by kingpin008, Jan 19, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kingpin008

    kingpin008 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    5,435
    Location:
    Howard County, Merry Land
    Hey folks - My fiancee and I will be moving to the Orlando area in about a year in order for me to attend culinary school. We'll be there for at least 15 months, but possibly closer to two years if I'm able to get an internship with Disney.

    I know that I have the option of applying for a non-resident permit, and I will be doing so as soon as I'm able to get a free second (saving for and planning both a wedding and a move to a new apartment is busy work!).

    The one part I'm unclear of and haven't been able to find much on is the relevant laws pertaining to self defense shootings in the state - when I can and cannot shoot, where I'm allowed to carry, am I covered (criminal and civil) in the event of a shooting?

    Any advice or links to sites that I can have a look at is much appreciated. Advice or links that don't force me to wade through eight layers of legal who-shot-john are especially helpful. :)

    Thanks!
     
  2. jdc1244

    jdc1244 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2007
    Messages:
    749
    Location:
    Florida
    Welcome to Florida!

    Florida has a ‘Castle Doctrine’ not unlike other states. There is no mandatory retreat. You may use deadly force if you believe yourself to be exposed to bodily harm. The Doctrine ‘moves with you’ from your home to your car, to your place of business or a tent on a camping trip – anywhere you’re expected to be and/or have permission to be. You are protected from civil liability.

    CCW info is here:

    http://licgweb.doacs.state.fl.us/weapons/index.html

    Note the ‘Florida Statutes’ link.

    “Castle Doctrine”:

    http://www.flsenate.gov/cgi-bin/vie...ate/bills/billtext/html&Tab=session&Submenu=1
     
  3. mgkdrgn

    mgkdrgn Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,914
    Location:
    Lexington, SC
    FL non-resident permit is expensive (like >$100 from what I recall), and I'm not all that sure how it translates into a FL -resident- permit. Perhaps you should research that a bit before you part with your cash.
     
  4. Bishop26

    Bishop26 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Messages:
    14
  5. kingpin008

    kingpin008 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    5,435
    Location:
    Howard County, Merry Land
    Thanks for the links and warm welcome, folks. :)

    I'll have a look around the sites ya'll posted, and see what I can figure out. If I have any questions, you can bet I'll be back to pester ya'll again, lol.

    Mgkdrgn - Good point about the resident/non-resident permit. I'll have to check on that.
     
  6. Sebastian the Ibis

    Sebastian the Ibis Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,865
    Location:
    "The Gunshine State"
    The concealed weapons permit application comes with the statutory sections related to self defense. You can order it for free online at: http://licgweb.doacs.state.fl.us/license/forms.html

    Why are you applying for a non-resident permit? If you don't need MD residence for vehicle registration or something, switch to FL and get: Florida homestead property, instate tuition and an instate permit.
     
  7. kermit315

    kermit315 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    454
    Location:
    Pensacola, FL
    Bishop26, where did you get your $200 dollar figure? I only saw what I paid, which was $117 for a non resident, not including the $42 dollar fingerprint fee.

    As far as resident/non resident honoring of the permit after you move there, as far as I can find on their website, as long as you submit the change of address fee, you are good to go. If you send 15 dollars along with that, they will send you a new license with the updated address. Florida doesnt differentiate between resident and non resident other than fees it would seem for the renewal and the out of state fingerprint fees because they will not accept live scan from out of state, so you have to hard card them.

    link about the address change
    http://licgweb.doacs.state.fl.us/license/changes.html

    more good info can be had here

    hope this helps.

    Jamie
     
  8. divemedic

    divemedic Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,462
    Location:
    30 minute drive from Disney World
    Check out this book. It is the best one available for Florida firearms laws. I would get a resident permit after you get here. They only take about 3-5 weeks, if you get electronically fingerprinted. Requires a class and $117.

    In the meantime, it is legal to have a gun in your car, as long as it is not on your person and is in a secure container. Your console or the glove box is fine.
     
  9. xsquidgator

    xsquidgator Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    836
    +2 on getting that particular book (Florida Firearms Law Use & Ownership). Used by many police academies and is written in a very easy-to-read style.
     
  10. WOPR

    WOPR Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    +3 on Mr. Gutmacher's book. Just got it mysef a few weeks ago, and its a very easy read. There is a new 2009 edition out there, (still sixth edition) that has all the current updates. you can also read some portions of the book on his website.
     
  11. Bishop26

    Bishop26 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Oops yah know what Kermit you were absolutley right. Dont have any Idea where I came up with that.:eek: Guess since I paid that much as a resident I thought I would tack on a little extra just because LOL.

    You can save money on the finger prints in some areas I went to the local sheriffs dept and paid 5 dollars to have mine done and then paid the 117 dollars for the rest of the fees. The only problem is they didnt tell me its much faster to do the 42 dollar electronic version. Whats really sad about this is they did mine electronically then gave me the card to send in and didnt give me a reciept to pay on the website.....I called back and asked if I could get the number to do it on the website and they said it was to late. For some reason I got the impression they dont enjoy doing prints for the concealed carry.
     
  12. Bishop26

    Bishop26 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    well my concealed carry permit request went in on january 13 and I called to check on it make sure all was ok...They have it and have not even begun the check yet. They said they got 90000 applications at the beginning of the year (thanks Obama) and it might well be 9 months instead of the traditional 90 days to get my Permit.
     
  13. FlaChef

    FlaChef Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    117
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    kingpin,
    I am also an OCA grad and live about 3 miles from where you will be going to school (yes i work for the big rat as well).

    + whatever for the book mentioned, i recomend it to all FL gun owners i ever even talk to. Also here is a good review of Orlando area ranges (after all i wrote it)....

    http://glocktalk.com/forums/showthread.php?t=582607&highlight=ranges

    Also you can shoot idpa or ipsc pretty much every saturday or sunday down here at one club or another within an hours drive.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page