Quantcast
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Gun Purchase in WV

Discussion in 'General Gun Discussions' started by Ebayg2k, Mar 6, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ebayg2k

    Ebayg2k Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Yesterday I tried to buy a hand gun in West Virginia and was told by the dealer that they could not sell me the gun because I had a Georgia state license. I've been here 4 months and was told by dealer that if I changed my license over to West Virginia that they could sell it to me. Can anyone tell me if this is true.

    Thank You
     
  2. Red Cent

    Red Cent Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2,384
    Location:
    McLeansville, NC by way of WV SASS 29170L
    Technically, you have not established residence in WV.
     
  3. docnyt

    docnyt Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,284
    Location:
    HeArT of DiXiE
    Check your local laws. You can start with handgunlaw.us

    If you can show proof of residency in WV, you may be able to convince a dealer. Chances are, though, that a WV DL would be the best form of ID.
     
  4. Frank Ettin

    Frank Ettin Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    10,242
    Location:
    California - San Francisco Bay Area
    Are you in fact now a resident of West Virginia?

    Under federal law a person may not take possession of a handgun in a State other than his State of residence. He may buy a handgun in another State, BUT the handgun would need to be shipped to an FFL in the buyer's State of residence for transfer to the buyer with all the usual folderol (i. e., completion of the 4473, background check, etc.).

    If you have moved to West Virginia, you will probably need to get your West Virginia driver's license so that you can prove residency in order to take possession of a handgun in West Virginia. You might want to do some research to see if under West Virginia law a dealer can accept anything else beside a driver's license or state issued ID as proof of residency.
     
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2011
  5. Bubbles

    Bubbles Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    3,152
    Location:
    Eastern Panhandle of West Virginia
    You will need a photo ID and some other state issued document showing residency in WV.

    Get your DL changed anyway - under WV law you only have 30 days to get it done once you move into the state.
     
  6. Blue Line

    Blue Line Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    547
    Location:
    Va
    you can buy a long gun but not a handgun.
     
  7. Ebayg2k

    Ebayg2k Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Yes I currently work and live in West Virginia.
     
  8. medalguy
    • Contributing Member

    medalguy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Messages:
    3,190
    Location:
    New Mexico
    If you have dual state residency, you may purchase a firearm (any kind) in the state in which you reside at the time. The 4473 specifies that a government issued picture ID is required. I'm in that situation, and have received a state ID (not DL) from my "second" state of residency. A few dealers have hesitated over the state ID card but when I asked them to look at the 4473 section, we were able to complete the deal. YMMV.

    Look at the instructions for Item 20 (identification of purchaser) and it clearly states that a driver's license OR other state-issued, numbered, picture identification is acceptable.
     
  9. rellascout

    rellascout member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Messages:
    5,149
    Location:
    VA
    Gun dealers will not accept an out of state lic because you have to prove residency. In order to prove that you are a WV resident you need to suppply them with proof of residence on a state issued picture ID. Unlike a bank or the DMV they will not accept a utility bill, hud doc, lease etc...

    They will normally only accept a Valid Drivers lic or WV State issued ID. So although you might be a WV resident you do not meet the ID requirements of FFLs. They will not even accept a new WV CHP which has your picture on it.

    Long story short get your WV DL and while your at it go ahead and get your CHP. That is what I did when I moved to WV from VA. :D
     
  10. zoom6zoom

    zoom6zoom Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2,908
    Location:
    Virginia
    If you've established residency in WV, the state requires you to obtain a WV driver's license within thirty days.
     
  11. md2lgyk

    md2lgyk Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Messages:
    531
    Location:
    WV
    And to register your vehicles.
     
  12. Red Cent

    Red Cent Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2,384
    Location:
    McLeansville, NC by way of WV SASS 29170L
    Curious. Where in WV?
     
  13. Jolly Rogers

    Jolly Rogers Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    620
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    There also may be a delay if WV like VA gun dealers have to look at the DL's issue date. In VA the DL has to be issued over 30 days ago.
    Joe
     
  14. Ole Coot

    Ole Coot Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    561
    Location:
    WV
    Need WV driver's license. I bought a handgun last week, driver's license, instant check and out the door with the handgun.
     
  15. Bubbles

    Bubbles Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    3,152
    Location:
    Eastern Panhandle of West Virginia
    WV has no such law. :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page