Quantcast
  1. Upgrade efforts paused for now. Thanks for your patience. More details in the thread in Tech Support for those who are interested.
    Dismiss Notice

How much did your concealed firearm permit cost?

Discussion in 'General Gun Discussions' started by ksfoa, Oct 31, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ksfoa

    ksfoa Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Lawrence, Kansas
    I am trying to put together some information about the costs associated with getting your license to carry concealed firearms. It is my belief that in Kansas, it is very expensive, but I thought I would ask here to get an idea of what others are spending in different states.

    So if you got your license or know exactly how much it costs then please let it be known. Also, please post any links you might have to such information. I am doing something of a research project here.

    I"ll start:
    Pennsylvania was about $56 with no class/instruction requirement
    Kansas is around $250 including classrom fees, sheriff fees, and attorney general fees.
     
  2. jkulysses

    jkulysses Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    220
    Location:
    Oregon
    The class around here varies from $30 to $40 dollars I paid $35 and the Sherrifs permit fee was I believe $60 or $65.
     
  3. HOWARD J

    HOWARD J Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,738
    Location:
    S/E Michigan
    I am on my third
    My first one:
    School : $150
    Bullets : $50
    License : about $ 110
    Fingerprint: $15
    Good for 3 years

    @2nd renewl
    Fingerprints: $15
    License :$100
    They said good for 5 years--not true--depending on birthday--like mine--little over 4 years.
     
  4. kingpin008

    kingpin008 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    5,435
    Location:
    Howard County, Merry Land
    Doesn't handgunlaw.us already have this info? I know they're a pretty comprehensive source of CCW laws/info in general, I figure they'd have cost info as well.
     
  5. walker944

    walker944 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Messages:
    661
    Location:
    Texas Hill Country
    I'll play...$80 for the class, $140 to the state of Texas, $10 for the photo, $20 for ammo. Looks like that adds up to $250.
     
  6. bubba15301

    bubba15301 Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Messages:
    378
    Location:
    pa
    Pa. $25.00 for 5 yrs. took 15 minutes
     
    Last edited: Oct 31, 2010
  7. smince

    smince Member.

    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Messages:
    1,329
    Location:
    Northeast Alabama
    Alabama: my first was $10 in 1982. It later went to $15 then to $25. And many counties are cheaper than that.

    (No required training classes either)
     
  8. writerinmo

    writerinmo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    414
    Location:
    Missouri
    My class was $135.00, they vary in the area as some of them furnish the firearms and ammo, others don't, some have lunch, other's you are on your own.

    Class :135.00
    Sheriff's "fee" for background check : $100.00
    DMV fee for ID: $12.00
    Renewal is currently $50.00 every three years.
     
  9. hso

    hso Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    63,647
    Location:
    0 hrs east of TN
    $85 for the class and $115 for the permit in TN
     
  10. Carter

    Carter Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,438
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Class: $80 plus ammo
    Permit: $90
     
  11. CHEVELLE427

    CHEVELLE427 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,022
    Location:
    NW FLORIDA
    $175 first time 4 yr
    renewal is $65 + new pic for 5 yr i think it for.

    just got mine in the mail

    looking at some prices above i just thought ours were high====FL
     
  12. Water-Man

    Water-Man Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,509
    Location:
    JAX, FL.
    Got my first one forty one years ago and have no idea what the cost was.
     
  13. PA Curmudgeon

    PA Curmudgeon Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    The fee for a PA LTCF is set at $25 by statute. Any county Sheriff's Dept charging more than that is in violation of the law.

    Edit: I also have a Utah permit. IIRC I paid $80 for the training and about $68 for the fee to Utah. Photo and fingerprinting were free.
     
  14. Mags

    Mags Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3,235
    Location:
    Belgium
    100 dollars for the class
    25 dollars for fingerprinting
    100 dollars to the state for the actual permit
    Total 225 dollars so I can excercise a right "that may not be infringed"; not to mention the 75 dollar renewal every 4 years.
     
  15. ldsgeek

    ldsgeek Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    110
    New Hampshire is $10 for a minimum of 4 years for a resident. If you apply before your birthday it is good until the fourth birthday from the date of issue.
     
  16. wuluf

    wuluf Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Messages:
    291
    Location:
    Nevada's capital
    Sacramento county CA

    App fee $20
    If approved:
    County fee $80
    State fee $112
    Class $90-175

    Ability to finally carry in Sacramento
    Priceless!
     
  17. Erik M

    Erik M Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,671
    Location:
    Hails from Parts Unknown
    Southern Kentucky = Class was $75 (weapons/ammo/targets/snacks & coffee provided), $25 to the Sheriff, and $25 to the State Police.
     
  18. penny

    penny Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    45
    Class-$130
    Ammo-$20
    Picture-$10
    License-$105

    Michigan
     
  19. garyhan

    garyhan Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Messages:
    398
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    $65 for three years. $15 for finger prints the first time.

    gary
     
  20. MikeNice

    MikeNice Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,001
    Location:
    North Carolina
    NC ranges between $75 and $125 for the class.
    Ammo cost
    $85 for the application fee
    $10 for fingerprints
    Then any hospital fees for record checks

    Mine ran about $192 plus ammo.
     
  21. m33p0n3

    m33p0n3 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    105
    Location:
    Delaware
    I don't recall exactly how it breaks down, but Delaware is about $300-$400 when all is said and done for a may issue. This includes taking a class, submitting paperwork, getting fingerprinted, and placing an ad in the paper. Then it's up to a judge to decide whether a permit is issued.
     
  22. Tommygunn

    Tommygunn Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    Messages:
    7,318
    Location:
    Morgan County, Alabama
    Morgan County Alabama; $20.00 per year.
     
  23. yeti

    yeti Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2006
    Messages:
    913
    Location:
    NEK, Vermont
    Nothing.
     
  24. General Geoff

    General Geoff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    5,556
    Location:
    Allentown, Pennsylvania
    I think yeti wins the thread! :)

    My Pennsylvania LTCF cost $21 for five years, no fingerprinting, no classes, or any other hidden costs.
     
  25. perch

    perch Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Location:
    Denver, Colorado
    In Colorado I paid:

    $100 to the Sheriff for the administrative costs
    $52.50 to the Colorado Bureau of Investigation to run a full background check
    $70 for a cheap 4 hour class (no live fire required)

    Good for 5 years (over 12¢ a day, ouch).
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice