Discussion in 'General Gun Discussions' started by ksfoa, Oct 31, 2010.
Oh yeah! forgot to mention in Florida it;s now a 7 year license.
They'd have to change the state constitution, first, which ain't going to happen. Article 16 is older than the Declaration of Independence.
Still in the realm of possiblity and that makes it vulnerable. I hope for everyone's sake that it never is attempted but resting on it can be dangerous.
As the sig line says... the 2nd Amendment didn't cost me any money.
Of course, this state took somewhere between $100 & $200 of my money, so that I could exercise the right enumerated in the 2A.
The safety course was $35, had to take it the first time I got the permit. then there were 90 dollars in fees (75 for the permit application fee and then they charge 15 for doing a background) So for a first timer you have a $125 in fees, 90 for renew. Permit is good for 5 years with talk of extending it to 7.
$125 for the permit, IIRC. no class lifetime.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Class including range time, notary, paperwork and photo $100
State Police $100
Finger prints $10
All to pay for a "right" I should already have.......
Statistically, this is in the realm of possibility that also contains things like asteroids falling from space and hitting me, personally.
There have been attempts to institute forms of 'gun control' in VT. They've all immediately raised the ire of gun owners, who've made a loud complaint and all been unceremoniously dumped before passage or overturned by the State Supreme Court.
I'm not arguing for complacency here. I'm just saying that for the foreseeable future, gun control is a non-issue in VT. There just isn't any push for it. It isn't on anyone's agenda.
VT is a bit of a statistical outlier. We've got screaming liberal politicians up here (the kind that make Obama look like the Nixonian he is) with A (and even A+) ratings from the NRA.
Some folks in Chittenden County would enthusiastically agree to gun control, if it came up, but it just doesn't come up, since the VSC last whacked it down. It's a non-starter, and people have better things to do with their time.
The biggest possibility for gun control in VT is some sort of federal reciprocity law that imposes minimum standards on all states. It's the reason I opposed the Thune amendment. Vermont has the right idea on RKBA. We don't need the Fed getting involved. The rest of the country will just have catch up with us on their own time (with congratulations to Arizona on joining the club).
$60 to the state
$40 to the sheriff
That's for a lifetime LTCH.
Hopefully that will always be true.
$10.00, I love Alabama
Just sent off for mine, including the class it was $250. The state just raised the fee $25 but added 1 year. $125 for a 5 yr permit now.
I posted that earlier, Warhawk. Just in case you didn't see it.
Separate names with a comma.