KS, NE, MT, Handgunlaw.us Updates

Gary Slider

Apr 6, 2006
West Virginia
Kansas – Effective July 1, 2023. The Governor has signed SB 116 which cut the price of a Kansas Carry Permit from $132.50 to just $32.50 and on renewal only a fee for Fingerprints will be charged. The State just cut out their $100 dollar charge and just left the $32.50 for the Sheriff. The Sheriff takes in application and paperwork and then sends it on to the State. http://kslegislature.org/li/b2023_24/measures/documents/sb116_enrolled.pdf

Nebraska - Governor has signed LB 77 making Nebraska a Permitless Carry State. The law goes into effect 90 days after the Legislature adjourns. At this time it looks like that will be around September 10. That makes it look like Florida July 1, North Dakota August 1 and Nebraska September 10. That will make 28 states with Permitless Carry.

Montana - The Governor has signed HB 674 which gives Montana 2 different permits. They always issued to those 18 or older and a few states would not honor their permit for that reason. So they will now issue a Restricted Enhanced permit to those 18 -20. Same requirements as the Regular Enhanced and they can convert the Restricted to and unrestricted when they turn 21 at no charge. You can read the bill at

The Permitless Carry Document has been updated with FL and NE added to the listing. ND is already listed as it is Limited Permitless Carry at this time. The Map will be updated on that Document when the states laws goes into effect. To many people just look at a map and don’t read. I have already had 2 questions on why the map has not been updated on that document. https://handgunlaw.us/documents/Permitless_Carry_States.pdf

Handgunlaw.us – I want to thank all those who give me a heads up on law changes. It is very much appreciated. I do see most of them as they make the News I scan all the time. It is the little changes that are hardest to see as they don’t get the Press that the bigger changes get. But send along anything you think would be of interest to Handgunlaw.us as one set of eyes can’t see everything. [email protected] Thank you, Gary and Steve
There seems to be an error in the Nebraska entry:

17. Nebraska – (Not Effective Until September 10, 2023) Any person 21 years of age or older who can legally possess a firearm under State and Federal Law can carry a concealed handgun in the State of Iowa without a permit.
Old Grench, Thank You! I have fixed that. I copy and paste as much as I can and I copied and pasted the Iowa Edition on that page and pasted it into the new Nebraska addition. Thank you again!!
I copy and paste as much as I can and I copied and pasted the Iowa Edition on that page and pasted it into the new Nebraska addition. Thank you again!!
I completely understand. It's an easy mistake to make.

One thing I always like to point out when the subject of permit-less carry comes up is the Gun-Free School Zones Act of 1990. If you are carrying a loaded firearm on the property of, or within 1,000 feet of a primary or secondary school and don't have a permit you are, with some exceptions, in violation of Federal law.
Old Grouch, I have asked numerous times on many forums if they know of anyone who was charged with just this crime. I can't find one and have never been informed of one. Someone did bring up a good point. Use your firearm for self defense inside the GFSZ they could charge you. From everything I have seen since I started doing this in the mid 90's is that it is an add on charge. There was a previous GFSZ act that was ruled Unconstitutional and so they passed another one. That is another reason I believe it has never been used except for an add on for someone who committed another felony inside the zone. If someone had I think there would be a court case on this and I can't find one.
you have to have a permit from the state you are in.
Actually, it says "is licensed to do so..........." It could be argued that a reciprocity agreement is, in fact, a license.
I think the argument is academic however because, as you pointed out, there are no incidences of anyone who was not committing some other offence being charged.