Quantcast
  1. Upgrade efforts paused for now. Thanks for your patience. More details in the thread in Tech Support for those who are interested.
    Dismiss Notice

Let's set the record straight on the age required for handgun purchase

Discussion in 'Legal' started by ZeroX, Sep 3, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ZeroX

    ZeroX Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Messages:
    888
    Location:
    Bloomington, IN
    I've heard that federal law requires you to be 21 to buy a handgun. But a lot of states don't seem to have their own law saying that. Does the state law trump the federal law?

    In short, let's say a 20 year old walks into an Indiana gun shop and attempts to buy a handgun. Can he, after going through the usual procedure and red tape?
     
  2. trueblue1776

    trueblue1776 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Messages:
    2,050
    Location:
    Alabama
    21 to buy from a FFL (Fed. Law), your state may allow private sales to an 18y.o. (most do)
     
  3. ZeroX

    ZeroX Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Messages:
    888
    Location:
    Bloomington, IN
    What qualifies as a "private sale"? Just a person to person transaction?
     
  4. Autolycus

    Autolycus Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2006
    Messages:
    5,456
    Location:
    In the land of make believe.
    Pretty much. I believe in IN your allowed to carry and own at 18.
     
  5. trueblue1776

    trueblue1776 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Messages:
    2,050
    Location:
    Alabama
    correct
     
  6. Geno

    Geno Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2005
    Messages:
    15,741
    Michigan = 21 from FFL & 18 from a parent. When my 13-year-old turns 18, she gets all of my firearms that she wants...pistols and longguns.
     
  7. Ohio Rifleman

    Ohio Rifleman Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    904
    Location:
    Ohio
    What about Ohio?
     
  8. jefnvk

    jefnvk Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Messages:
    4,940
    Location:
    Metro Detroit, Michigan
    Something you dont fill out a 4473 for. Ownership age is set by the state, transfer from a FFL holder is set at 21 by the feds.
     
  9. DMF

    DMF Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    Messages:
    2,247
    Location:
    Nomad
    You must be at least 21 to purchase a handgun from a FFL. You must be 18 to possess a handgun, with certain exceptions.
    Absolutely not, it's just the opposite. See the Supremacy Clause of the Constitution (Article VI) if you are confused on that concept.

    http://www.atf.gov/firearms/faq/faq2.htm#f6

    http://www.atf.gov/firearms/faq/faq2.htm#b14
     
  10. Spider Pig

    Spider Pig Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    um, of course federal law trumps state law. an absence of a state law to reinforce federal law just means that the state feels like the fed law is good enough. be a good boy and wait like everybody else or go private. i know a lot of private sellers on this site would sell to 18 and up although i know some 18andups here who really shouldnt own handguns...
     
  11. Mannix

    Mannix Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    593
    I know plenty of 30+ year olds who really shouldn't own ANY firearms, heck I know some I wouldn't trust with a BB gun.

    As others have stated, most states allow possession of handguns at 18, and you have to be 21 to buy/transfer a handgun through an FFL.

    Your state goes a step further and issues CC permits to anyone 18+ on a shall issue basis...

    I'm jealous :D(stupid 21+... grumble grumble).
     
  12. Quiet

    Quiet Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,114
    Location:
    bouncing between the 909 & the 702
    21 to buy, 18 to own.
     
  13. fletcher

    fletcher Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Messages:
    2,561
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC
    Federal law is 21 to purchase from a store, IIRC. State laws may vary.

    In NC, for example, there are a couple technicalities from which the laws obtaining a firearm under 21 can be derived. First, a pistol purchase permit is required to obtain a handgun. However, you must be 21 to apply to get a pistol purchase permit. So, although it's not written into the law specifically that you have to be 21 to buy a gun, you have to be 21 to obtain the permit necessary to buy a handgun.

    But, according to the view of the Wake County Sheriff's Office, you can "borrow" a handgun if you're 18. This would allow one to open carry, take it to the range, etc. They only require the permit to purchase if the transfer is permanent. If it's on loan for a week, month, year, whatever, a permit is not technically needed.
     
  14. realtor

    realtor Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    Messages:
    22
    Location:
    Ballwin, MO
    18 U.S.C 922(x)
    (1) It shall be unlawful for a person to sell, deliver, or otherwise transfer to a person who the transferor knows or has reasonable cause to believe is a juvenile—
    (A) a handgun; or
    (B) ammunition that is suitable for use only in a handgun.
    (2) It shall be unlawful for any person who is a juvenile to knowingly possess—
    (A) a handgun; or
    (B) ammunition that is suitable for use only in a handgun.
    (3) This subsection does not apply to—
    (A) a temporary transfer of a handgun or ammunition to a juvenile or to the possession or use of a handgun or ammunition by a juvenile if the handgun and ammunition are possessed and used by the juvenile—

    Bottom line, 21 to purchase from an FFL. 18 is considered the age of maturity BUT, your state may set a more restrictive threshold if they so choose (such as 21). Missouri was 21 until August 28, 2007 when certain provisions of MO weapons law were amended or rescinded specifically RSMo 571.090 which stated an age of 21 and required anyone purchasing a hand gun to get a Permit To Acquire (PTA) each and every time they made a purchase. Now we simply follow federal law.
     
  15. Duck and Cover

    Duck and Cover Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    14
    Does anyone know if private handgun sales are legal in PA? I'm 18, and I have handguns that are "mine", but my Dad filed the 4473's. Am I able to take them to the range to shoot by myself? My high school math teacher who was on the cover of Women and Guns told me it is illegal for me to possess a handgun in PA. (I guess that's some kind of reference, lol... it sure kept the kids in class in line though:uhoh:)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice