Quantcast
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Minnesota: Castle Doctrine hearing Mar. 13th at 12:30PM

Discussion in 'Activism' started by johninminnesota, Mar 11, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. johninminnesota

    johninminnesota Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Time to get involved - see email sent out below (quoted), and if you can, show up at the state capitol - Thursday March 13th at 12:30 PM with your support sign. The author of this bill needs a show of support to get this bill moving.


     
  2. 340PD

    340PD Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,350
    All e-mailed

    Thank you for your efforts.
     
  3. johninminnesota

    johninminnesota Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    If you can, please get involved by calling or emailing some of the DFL'ers with a request to get on board. Keep it positive and point out that we who deserve this protection are not violent offenders. Violent offenders also don't have permits to carry, and we don't have a rap sheet. This is to PROTECT our rights to defend ourselves from those who don't care about laws.

    From a friend who knows the system:

    Your bill is at the very bottom of the list so it will definitely not be at 12:30pm sharp. Depending on how many people show up to argue and testify for the previous bills, it could be much later and apparently, in a different room in the same building. If there are a lot of people expected to show up, there is very limited seating so if you want to sit or even get in to the room, it may be a good idea to get there early although if they switch the room, it is first come first serve. If you are not testifying and there are no identifying characteristics of your supporters, there is no way for the committee to know who is there for which side except when you cheer and boo the testifiers. The chairman might get a little annoyed but they are only one vote and they give numerous warnings. There are 19 members of this committee and the bill has 8 co-authors on the committee (7 GOP, 1 DFL) so you need to only convince 2 more to get it through committee which is the good news, the bad news is that you already have the support of every Republican on the committee so that leaves no rational thinkers left and the one DFL on your side is in his first term and thus has no power so you will need some luck. You should be focusing on the remaining DFL members on the committee and finding people in their district to call on behalf of the bill (I listed them below, the ones with a star you have as co-authors). Not having the support of the chairman can be sort of rough as they decide how long people testify and make the rules. This especially sucks because it is the end of their day and they want to leave.

    THURSDAY, March 13, 2008
    12:30 PM
    Meeting Time Note: The committee will recess at 2 p.m. and reconvene if necessary immediately thereafter in 500S State Office Building.
    Committee: Public Safety and Civil Justice
    Room: 10 State Office Building
    Chair: Rep. Joe Mullery
    *** Note: *** Change in Agenda
    Bill(s) Added
    Agenda: HF2095 (Eastlund) Peace officer reciprocity licensing exam eligibility criteria modified to include persons in active military service;
    SF2379 (Dill) Reestablishment cost limit provisions amended;
    HF2955 (Simon) School background check requirements modified;
    HF2970 (Drazkowski) Motorists required to move to far left of roadway before passing road maintenance workers;
    HF3101 (Bigham) Domestic abuse no contact order violations criminal penalty increased;
    HF3281 (Dill) Snowmobile training provisions modified;
    HF3367 (Pelowski) Relating to data practices; specifying access to disputed data; requiring closed meetings to be recorded; granting attorney fees in certain cases;
    HF3396 (Simon) Hearing time requirements modified and clarified, prehearing discharge exception provided for commitment petitions involving mentally ill or sexually dangerous persons;
    HF3441 (Bigham) Civil immunity extended to municipalities that donate public safety equipment;
    HF3456 (Tschumper) Local government interstate assistance authorized for emergency services;
    HF3521 (Loeffler) Independent living goals court findings required for children age 16 or older who are in an out-of-home placement;
    HF3767 (Olin) Predatory offender written verification permitted for residence in another state;
    HF3793 (Davnie) Student cooperation with educators policy clarified;
    HF3974 (Dominguez) Domestic fatality review team continuation authorized;
    HF3900 (Mullery) Misdemeanor penalty increase provided;
    HF3995 (Mullery) Creating a gross misdemeanor for assaulting a utility employee or contractor;
    HF699 (Nornes) Adult certification for juvenile violent offenses lowered to age 13;
    HF498 (Cornish) Self-defense; use of force in defense of home and person laws clarified, self-defense and defense of home laws extended and codified, and common law duty to retreat eliminated.

    Public Safety and Civil Justice
    Committee Membership
    2007 - 2008

    Meets: Tuesdays and Thursdays at 12:30 p.m. in Room 10 of the State Office Building.


    Phone Number
    (651) area code
    E-mail Address

    Chair: Joe Mullery (DFL)
    296-4262
    rep.joe.mullery@house.mn

    Vice Chair: Jeremy Kalin (DFL)
    296-5377
    rep.jeremy.kalin@house.mn

    Lead-GOP: Paul Kohls (R)*
    296-4282
    rep.paul.kohls@house.mn

    Karla Bigham (DFL)
    296-4342
    rep.karla.bigham@house.mn

    Tony Cornish (R)*
    296-4240
    rep.tony.cornish@house.mn

    Chris DeLaForest (R)*
    296-4231
    rep.chris.delaforest@house.mn

    Tom Emmer (R)*
    296-4336
    rep.tom.emmer@house.mn

    Debra Hilstrom (DFL)
    296-3709
    rep.debra.hilstrom@house.mn

    Mary Liz Holberg (R)*
    296-6926
    rep.maryliz.holberg@house.mn

    Sheldon Johnson (DFL)
    296-4201
    rep.sheldon.johnson@house.mn

    Scott Kranz (DFL)
    296-4226
    rep.scott.kranz@house.mn

    John Lesch (DFL)
    296-4224
    rep.john.lesch@house.mn

    Leon Lillie (DFL)
    296-1188
    rep.leon.lillie@house.mn

    Dave Olin (DFL)*
    296-9635
    rep.dave.olin@house.mn

    Michael Paymar (DFL)
    296-4199
    rep.michael.paymar@house.mn

    Brita Sailer (DFL)
    296-4265
    rep.brita.sailer@house.mn

    Steve Simon (DFL)
    296-9889
    rep.steve.simon@house.mn

    Steve Smith (R)*
    296-9188
    rep.steve.smith@house.mn

    Torrey Westrom (R)*
    296-4929
    rep.torrey.westrom@house.mn
     
  4. Standing Wolf

    Standing Wolf Member in memoriam

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    24,041
    Location:
    Idahohoho, the jolliest state
    I think it's a bad idea to call lies "mistakes."
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page