Quantcast
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

NC: Contact committee to move HB 937 to the floor for vote

Discussion in 'Activism' started by DMK, Apr 23, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DMK

    DMK Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    8,797
    Location:
    Over the hills and far, far away
    This bill has passed committee and was sent to the House floor for vote:

    http://www.thehighroad.org/showthread.php?t=714368

    From Grass Roots NC:


    No, it isn't perfect, but it is pretty good. This bill will get us badly needed restaurant carry, clean-up state-wide uniformity on parks carry to eliminate abuse by anti-gun municipalities, and will allow employees with permits to keep handguns locked in cars while working at higher education facilities.

    Yes, we want more, such as storage at work for everyone, but this represents progress in the direction of freedom.
     
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2013
  2. Xiphoticness

    Xiphoticness Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Location:
    Concord, NC
    More NC legislation to support.

    Would you consider it highjacking if I added that while you are supporting this bill you should also support HB 246 which covers the restaurant carry issue, as well as carry in several other locations such as theaters, sporting events, parades, etc. And HB 246 seeks to amend the state constitution to secure these rights at a level beyond simple legislation. We should support both of these measures in case either of them fails to move forward or pass. Thanks for the heads up DMK. HB 246 currently sits in the Rules, Calendar, and Operations of the House Committee, so please contact them and let them know you want this legislation to be given a vote, and that we want it to be brought before the people of North Carolina so our voices can be heard. Thank you for your hard work and I'll be getting the word out on HB 937 as well. If I need to make this a separate post I'll understand, it just seemed efficient to me to keep NC related legislation together so our fellow Carolinians don't have to read multiple threads to keep up with 2A legislation they need to support in our state.
     
  3. DMK

    DMK Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    8,797
    Location:
    Over the hills and far, far away
    I agree. Thanks for the info on HB 246

    Contact Information

    Copy and paste email addresses for the Rules, Calendar, and Operations of the House Committee:


    John.Blust@ncleg.net, Jamie.Boles@ncleg.net, Marcus.Brandon@ncleg.net, William.Brisson@ncleg.net, Justin.Burr@ncleg.net, Becky.Carney@ncleg.net, Leo.Daughtry@ncleg.net, Jean.Farmer-Butterfield@ncleg.net, Elmer.Floyd@ncleg.net, Larry.Hall@ncleg.net, Susi.Hamilton@ncleg.net, Kelly.Hastings@ncleg.net, Bryan.Holloway@ncleg.net, Darren.Jackson@ncleg.net, Linda.Johnson2@ncleg.net, David.Lewis@ncleg.net ,Tim.Moore@ncleg.net, Tim.Moffitt@ncleg.net, Jason.Saine@ncleg.net, Ruth.Samuelson@ncleg.net, Paul.Stam@ncleg.net, Edgar.Starnes@ncleg.net, Michael.Stone@ncleg.net, John.Torbett@ncleg.net




    DELIVER THIS MESSAGE

    Suggested Subject:
    "Move HB 246, “The Gun Rights Amendment”


    Dear Rules, Calendar, and Operations of the House Committee Member;

    HB 246, “The Gun Rights Amendment” is a good bill that deserves your support. It seeks to amend the state constitution clarifying where citizens with concealed handgun permits may legally defend themselves and their families.

    Note that this bill importantly includes language that will to secure these rights at a level beyond simple legislation.

    I urge you to move this legislation to the House floor without delay.

    I will be watching progress through Grass Roots North Carolina alerts.

    Sincerely,
     
    Last edited: Apr 23, 2013
  4. Ryanxia

    Ryanxia Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    4,380
    Location:
    'MURICA!
    Good luck guys, let the folks know at your local gunshops about these Bills too. If you're really motivated print out some flyers and ask the gunshops if you can put them up.
     
  5. Xiphoticness

    Xiphoticness Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Location:
    Concord, NC
    By way of an update on these bills, from my dad, the majority leader color codes bills from red to yellow to green in order of the bills he is most interested in seeing a vote on. Both of these have moved from red to yellow, we are making progress so keep it up. With a bit more support for these we could see other 2A supportive bills also given a chance, such as the protecting patriots legislation that would open campus carry for those with CCW. Keep up the good work guys and lets get the word out everywhere we can.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page