Quantcast
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

VA - State Police reviewing Regs on Handguns in Excess of One Within a 30-Day Period

Discussion in 'Activism' started by W.E.G., Aug 21, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. W.E.G.

    W.E.G. Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    7,362
    Location:
    all over Virginia
    http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/l/viewchapter.cfm?chapterid=2045&display=reviews&reviewid=822

    Review Announcement

    The Virginia Department of State Police is conducting a periodic review of Regulations Governing Purchases of Handguns in Excess of One Within a 30-Day Period [19 VAC 30 100] to ensure that they are current, comply with statutory mandates, and implement the provisions of the Code of Virginia.

    This review will be conducted beginning on Monday, September 17, through Tuesday, October 9, 2007.

    Public Comment Period Begin Date: 9/17/2007 End Date: 10/9/2007
     
  2. novaDAK

    novaDAK Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,030
    just so I don't get my hopes up unneededly, they're reviewing whether or not the one handgun every 30 days or non CCW holders is working, and if it's needed or not (and therefore done away with)?
     
  3. Craig_VA

    Craig_VA Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Messages:
    215
    Location:
    Virginia
    re: VA State Police Review

    Since the limit of one purchase per 30 days (except for CC permittees) is in state law, the State Police could not change that limitation. Although they could conceivably propose a change in law to the governor, that is not a realistic expectation. Therefore, I suspect they are checking to see how well the law is being implemented and enforced.

    craig
     
  4. W.E.G.

    W.E.G. Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    7,362
    Location:
    all over Virginia
    Comments from gun owners might address issues where there have been instances of misapplication of the current law, or where there have been uncertainties in the proper application of the law.

    If you are aware of such instances, it would be very appropriate to submit a comment.
     
  5. tinygnat219

    tinygnat219 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    2,939
    Location:
    The Land of Northern Hospitality and Southern Effi
    Not sure what can really be said here.
     
  6. RNB65

    RNB65 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,056
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    :confused: The law says 30 days and it's enforced by the instant check system. So what exactly are they reviewing?
     
  7. motorheadjohn

    motorheadjohn Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    Messages:
    65
    Location:
    Tidewater, VA
    RNB65, it's my understanding the instant check system does not enforce the 30day rule. I could easily be wrong though. Do you have any links showing it does in VA? I'd like to know just for my own curiosity.

    As to this thread in general...I suggest getting your VA Concealed Handgun Permit and then the 30-day rule no longer applies to you. It's a painless process and the more gun owners that do will give strength to the program.
     
  8. novaDAK

    novaDAK Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,030
    Don't worry...I'll be getting a CCW permit as soon as I'm eligible...another year or two to go :)

    But I do know that the 30 day rule is at least tied in with the instant check system because I was with someone who bought a rifle earlier at a gunshow and the dealer mistakenly called it in to NICS as a handgun, so when he tried to buy a revolver later at the same gunshow they denied the purchase because he already bought a 'handgun'...needless to say, he went back to the first dealer and had them correct the problem with NICS with a simple phonecall, and the second dealer then went and called NICS and they approved the sale so everyone was happy :)
     
  9. tinygnat219

    tinygnat219 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    2,939
    Location:
    The Land of Northern Hospitality and Southern Effi
    The State Police run the NICS check in VA. That's what that annoying 2 dollar charge is for. This is probably so they can enforce the one handgun every 30 days.
     
  10. ffxmike

    ffxmike Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    They can enforce the one handgun every 30 days currently via the instant check system. I know this because I don't have my CCW, and I got my dates wrong once. I tried to buy a pistol at around 27 or 28 days, and I got denied, reason given to the dealer (I was standing right there) was because the previous purchase had only been X amount of days ago where X was not equal to 30.
     
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2007
  11. RNB65

    RNB65 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,056
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    I don't know for sure. But I've made multiple handguns purchases within 30 days on three occasions within the last year or so and each time the approval on the 2nd gun was delayed by a few minutes while they verified my CHP status. I'm pretty sure instant check indicates if you've purchased a handgun within the last 30 days.
     
  12. RangerVA

    RangerVA Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2007
    Messages:
    76
    This is one of many reasons I applied for mine last week.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page