Quantcast
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

CCW rant.

Discussion in 'Legal' started by fjolnirsson, Jul 9, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. fjolnirsson

    fjolnirsson Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,746
    Location:
    Oregon, in the Willamette Valley
    Well, after 6 months of arguing with the local SO (they told me I must apply with my local PD first, which is untrue.), they changed pencil pushers, and I was able to get a copy of their fees, requirements and other restrictions on CCW. Got it about a week ago.
    I am pi##ed.

    Here goes.
    They list the following:
    $30 non-refundable application fee.
    $60 registration fee for firearms safety class "sponsored" by the SO.
    $325- 2 year standard ccw
    $165 renewal fee for above.
    In addition, the SO sponsored course must be retaken prior to each renewal.


    Nice, yes? But doable, I suppose.
    There is a section regarding where your ccw permit is not valid. Airports, etc. The first listed is:
    "attending social or public functions except when a particular need can be articulated."
    ***? SO, if I'm on my way to church, or a friends birthday party for his kid, I can't carry? I could lose my permit for this? What?

    And, in addition:
    They only allow revolvers made by Smith and Wesson, Colt and Ruger.
    Only Semi-autos by Smith, Beretta, Sig and Glock.
    All other firearms must be "preapproved by the Professional Standards Unit Lt.
    Permits will not be issued for "derringer or other"hide-away" type weapons".***?
    Weapons are limited to no more than two per permit, except by express permission of the Sheriff.
    Alteration of equipment is prohibited. "This includes the addition of equipment, alteration of trigger pull, trimming of springs, honing or filing of mechanical parts"
    The addition of flashlights, laser sights(emphasis mine)expanded capacity or extended magazines is also prohibited, and shall constitute alteration of the weapon.
    Any alteration of a weapon shall be cause for the immeadiate seizure of the weapon (emphasis mine) and revocation of the permit.
    So, making the trigger pull smoother and less jerky, or adding things to ensure safety of non bad guys is prohibited?
    Again, I say, "***?"
    Granted, it still allows for self defense(technically, although there have been very few permits issued through my county. My sherriff is on Jim March's list of discretionary abusers.). However, none of this is allowed by our CCW laws, that I can find.


    GRRR. I want to leave this Fin' state.
     
  2. Pilgrim

    Pilgrim Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2002
    Messages:
    2,957
    Location:
    Nevada, escaped from the PDRK via Idaho.
    All of those fees charged sound excessive. As I remember, the penal code that addresses the issuance of CCW permits fixes the fees that can be charged.

    Pilgrim
     
  3. R.H. Lee

    R.H. Lee Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2004
    Messages:
    7,377
    Location:
    CA
    Hypothetically, if it were me, and if I lived, hypothetically, in California, I would just hypothetically go armed wherever and whenever I wanted, hypothetically. But that's just me, hypothetically.:) YMMV
     
  4. fjolnirsson

    fjolnirsson Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,746
    Location:
    Oregon, in the Willamette Valley
    Hypothetically understood.:D

    The fees are further broken down in another section.
    2 year ccw
    DOJ fee $90.00
    County fees $175.00??How can processing require this many man hours?
    Training class registration $60
    -----------------------------------------------------------------
    Total $325

    ?????????????????????
     
  5. artherd

    artherd member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2003
    Messages:
    2,518
    Location:
    An Elevated Position in the Bay Area, PRK
    Talk to Jim, but it is my non-legal opinion that those fees are not legal.
     
  6. fjolnirsson

    fjolnirsson Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,746
    Location:
    Oregon, in the Willamette Valley
    Actually,

    Jim is helping me out with the local PD. With his help, I was able to make significant progress with them. Now I am playing phone tag with the Chief's assistant.
     
  7. Lennyjoe

    Lennyjoe Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    6,065
    Location:
    Southwestern Ohio
    You could always come on over to Arizona.;)
     
  8. RevDisk

    RevDisk Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    1,737
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Gee. Maybe I shouldn't brag about PA's CCW? :neener:

    $19, and the only requirement is driving to your local courthouse. It is good for 5 years. Part of the fee covers your sheriff mailing you a reminder to renew your license, along with a copy of the renew form. Heck, $19 is almost worth that reminder alone.

    In all seriousness, keep up the work on reforming Cali's CCW. Best of luck. Let us know if you ever decide to move to the United States. :evil:
     
  9. fjolnirsson

    fjolnirsson Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,746
    Location:
    Oregon, in the Willamette Valley
    I'm planning a move to Oregon in a year or two. I don't want my daughter going to skool here. Among other reasons.
     
  10. Pilgrim

    Pilgrim Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2002
    Messages:
    2,957
    Location:
    Nevada, escaped from the PDRK via Idaho.
    12054. (a) Each applicant for a new license or for the renewal of a
    license shall pay at the time of filing his or her application a fee
    determined by the Department of Justice not to exceed the
    application processing costs of the Department of Justice for the
    direct costs of furnishing the report required by Section 12052.
    After the department establishes fees sufficient to reimburse the
    department for processing costs, fees charged shall increase at a
    rate not to exceed the legislatively approved annual cost-of-living
    adjustments for the department's budget. The officer receiving the
    application and the fee shall transmit the fee, with the fingerprints
    if required, to the Department of Justice. The licensing authority
    of any city, city and county, or county may charge an additional fee
    in an amount equal to the actual costs for processing the application
    for a new license, excluding fingerprint and training costs, but in
    no case to exceed one hundred dollars ($100), and shall transmit the
    additional fee, if any, to the city, city and county, or county
    treasury. The first 20 percent of this additional local fee may be
    collected upon filing of the initial application. The balance of the
    fee shall be collected only upon issuance of the license.
    The licensing authority may charge an additional fee, not to
    exceed twenty-five dollars ($25), for processing the application for
    a license renewal, and shall transmit an additional fee, if any, to
    the city, city and county, or county treasury. These local fees may
    be increased at a rate not to exceed any increase in the California
    Consumer Price Index as compiled and reported by the California
    Department of Industrial Relations.
    (b) In the case of an amended license pursuant to subdivision (f)
    of Section 12050, the licensing authority of any city, city and
    county, or county may charge a fee, not to exceed ten dollars ($10),
    except that the fee may be increased at a rate not to exceed any
    increase in the California Consumer Price Index as compiled and
    reported by the California Department of Industrial Relations, for
    processing the amended license and shall transmit the fee to the
    city, city and county, or county treasury.
    (c) If psychological testing on the initial application is
    required by the licensing authority, the license applicant shall be
    referred to a licensed psychologist used by the licensing authority
    for the psychological testing of its own employees. The applicant
    may be charged for the actual cost of the testing in an amount not to
    exceed one hundred fifty dollars ($150). Additional psychological
    testing of an applicant seeking license renewal shall be required
    only if there is compelling evidence to indicate that a test is
    necessary. The cost to the applicant for this additional testing
    shall not exceed one hundred fifty dollars ($150).
    (d) Except as authorized pursuant to subdivisions (a), (b), and
    (c), no requirement, charge, assessment, fee, or condition that
    requires the payment of any additional funds by the applicant may be
    imposed by any licensing authority as a condition of the application
    for a license.
     
  11. Carnitas

    Carnitas Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2003
    Messages:
    336
    Location:
    Northern California
    Sounds like a lot of BS..... But you should do it any way.

    WRT to the......
    Absent any further clarification from the SO I would just have this as my personal policy....

    "Anytime the Dept of HOmeland Security Threat Level is above green,

    or anytime I will be in an area where a violent crime has been commited within the preceeding 6 months,

    or anytime I will be within 5 miles of a location where a registered sex offender is known to reside,

    or anytime I am in a jurisdiction where law enforcement officers routinely carry loaded weapons even though no "particular need can be articulated" for having a loaded weapon at hand,

    I will consider myself to have an articulatiable particular need.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page