1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Interesting inquiry for a rifle I have for sale

Discussion in 'General Gun Discussions' started by sleepyone, May 4, 2013.

  1. sleepyone

    sleepyone Well-Known Member

    I have a rifle for sale on Texas Gun Trader, and I got an inquiry from someone who said they were from my same hometown but are currently in Pakistan. He or she asked "Can you please send some detailed pics of the entire rifle?"

    I already have the rifle SPF, but I was curious if this is one of those Armslist scams people have been posting about recently where they want pics of your rifle so they can pose as sellers of it themselves? The email address is using sbcglobal.net. Seems like it would be an obscure domain name if someone was trying to scam. Also, even if this person is legit, I can't imagine someone wanting to work a deal on a rifle when he is on the other side of the world. Strange.
  2. Texan Scott

    Texan Scott Well-Known Member

    So... tell him "Sorry... rifle is sold, pending funds". Promise to message him if the deal falls through..

    And don't.
  3. rcmodel

    rcmodel Member in memoriam

    Ask him if he has ever had one of those great meal deals with the shake at the Chick'N'Snickers on 17th & main street when he was home last time.

    Bet he has!

  4. newfalguy101

    newfalguy101 Well-Known Member

    If the gun is sold, I don't see the issue, just tell the guy its sold.

    Whats so strange about someone halfway around the world wanting to showing interest in your gun??

    In this day of the innanet, its no different than someone in the next county seeing ad and sending an e-mail asking for pics.
  5. sleepyone

    sleepyone Well-Known Member

    I could probably have fun with this guy, but I don't really want to reply and give him my email address. He contacted me via Texas Gun Trader, so he does not have access to my email until I reply. Too may people have my email already!

    I may jack with him through TGT's messaging system. Anyway, I thought it was funny. I've never had that kind of inquiry. "Hey, I really like your rifle, but I'm in Pakistan at the moment."
  6. HKGuns

    HKGuns Well-Known Member

    The last firearm I bought I committed to buy while I was in India on a business trip. The seller understood and waited for payment until I returned.
  7. double bogey

    double bogey Well-Known Member

    sbcglobal is a southwestern bell corp address. He has a home with their modem in it I think, as I used to have one and had that suffix. Not like yahoo or live address.
  8. rondog

    rondog Well-Known Member

    Could be legit, could be a serviceman over there who's interested and may want to have his dad/brother come and get it after he sends you payment.
  9. sleepyone

    sleepyone Well-Known Member

    I've been overseas several times too, and the last thing I thought about or had time for searching ads for rifles!
  10. medalguy

    medalguy Well-Known Member

    Could be a hijacked address too. Stay away.
  11. shiftyer1

    shiftyer1 Well-Known Member

    Voice your concerns with him, maybe he has a friend or family in town that you can meet with?

    Or just blow it off :)
  12. dogtown tom

    dogtown tom Well-Known Member

    Nothing unusual at all......

    I have several customers who are deployed military/contractors/business travelers who have ready access to the internet while out of the country.

    One gentleman bought ten handguns while he was out of the country for seven weeks. I stored them until he came back home.
  13. Willie Sutton

    Willie Sutton Well-Known Member

    I spend many hours looking at Armslist, etc., when I am on contract. Making money and noplace to spend it... nice to have something to look forward to when I get home.

    I've paid for several rifles via discrete Paypal, sight unseen, and have had guys hold them for up to 3 months for me. Never had a problem, always got what I bought, and made some noce friends. I'm always straight with sellers, tell them the truth, and have been rewarded with good experiences. So... ask a few questions to figure out who you are dealing with, and let your gut be your guide.


  14. Al Thompson

    Al Thompson Moderator Staff Member

    When I was overseas I purchased several firearms and had them stored till I got back. So, not unusual IMHO.
  15. HKGuns

    HKGuns Well-Known Member

    Well, you have to do something in your room in the evenings when you are alone. Browsing these forums is one of the things I do during my free time. I wasn't looking for anything, something just popped up in the FS section of a forum I frequent at a good price.
  16. tarosean

    tarosean Well-Known Member

    I buy a lot of guns when I am working around the world, my FFL holds them till I return. It gives me something to do in the evenings when bored, etc.
  17. 22-rimfire

    22-rimfire Well-Known Member

    Without the internet and email, this would not be possible. Great tool. I would follow my gut in your case. You could send pictures, but you don't have to take the thing apart or send "detailed" (meaning in focus) pictures every two inches of gun...
  18. 58limited

    58limited Well-Known Member

    Could be legit. Reply through the TGT messaging system and ask a few questions including having him ID a few local landmarks. If he offers to mail a money order then stay away. That is a very common scam.

    I had a Tag Heuer watch listed and a guy claimed he was from nearby but was in California for a wedding. He wanted the watch for a wedding gift but when he claimed to have paid my via paypal, he wanted it sent to Nigeria. He even created a fake paypal receipt that he sent to me to "prove" payment - guess he didn't think I would actually check my paypal account, plus his receipt was different than a real paypal confirmation.

Share This Page