Permit to own a handgun - which states?

Discussion in 'Legal' started by parsimonious_instead, Jan 29, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Loosedhorse

    Loosedhorse member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    3,453
    Location:
    eastern Massachusetts
    Such comparisons are typically meaningless--which is fortunate. Because if they meant anything, they have just a pretty good chance of making pro-gun states look unsafe.

    Henderson, NV is one of "America's safest cities", and is 14 mi away from LV, one of the most dangerous. Anchorage is one of America's most dangerous, as are Lubbock and Tallahassee.

    Honolulu and NYC are among the safest cities in the country. For states as a whole, the worst ones for gun rights (HI, NJ, MA) are never listed as worst-crime states (and are usually in the safer half); but AZ and AK often are.
     
  2. Hondo 60
    • Contributing Member

    Hondo 60 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    6,295
    Location:
    Freeport, IL
    Wisconsin requires an NICS check & a 48 hr waiting period to buy a handgunfrom a FFL holder, but no permit is needed to buy or own any gun.

    No NICS check or waiting period if purchasing from a private party.

    We do have a CCW permit, good for 5 years and it's a "Shall Issue" (meaning they have to issue it unless you have a criminal background).
     
  3. Twiki357

    Twiki357 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,035
    Location:
    Prescott Valley, AZ
    I'm in Arizona.... What's a permit?
     
  4. chubcobear

    chubcobear Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    Central Arkansas
    Very good, Twiki.
    Arkansas, almost as good.
    Go Store. See gun. Buy gun (pass FBI). Walk out (about 30 min.)
    CCW required for concealed, issued by State Police, easy if clean, initially expensive, about 160.00 total, good five years, any legal pistol. Must take state approved instruction first: 6 hours, 120.00. Total cost abt 280.00 m/l.
    Laws generally pro gun rights.
     
  5. crracer_712

    crracer_712 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Messages:
    439
    Location:
    Kansas
    No permit to buy or own in Kansas.
     
  6. morcey2

    morcey2 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2,239
    Location:
    Central Utah
    Same here. I love Utah! :)
     
  7. 2aHawaii

    2aHawaii Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Hawaii requires a permit to acquire for each and every handgun purchase. To get a permit to acquire, you need to pass a firearms safety course, a qualifying hunters education class, or military waiver.

    While you can inherit handguns without a permit, I'd consider this almost the same as the OP is stating.
     
  8. Strykervet

    Strykervet member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,610
    Nothing in WA. Conceal carry permits are shall issue, open carry is legal too. Pretty gun friendly actually, and low crime too compared to a lot of other places in the Union.
     
  9. NavyLCDR

    NavyLCDR member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Messages:
    7,691
    Location:
    Stanwood, WA
    However.... in WA, when buying handguns from an FFL:

    1. There is an extra form that gets sent to the local police for an additional background check in addition to NICS.

    2. Without a CPL there is a 5 day waiting period to allow for the additional local police background check. With a CPL, the form still gets sent to the local police, but there is no waiting period.

    3. This form is then sent to the WA State Department of Licensing where the handgun purchase is recorded in their database with make/model/serial number of gun, name, address, DL# and CPL#.

    LEO can then query the database with any one piece of info above and get the rest - for example, they can ask a Driver's License number and have returned all of the handgun serial numbers that have been purchased from a Washington FFL.

    So, in Washington, one could say we have a defacto handgun purchase permit (the extra form) and handgun registration.

    Sources: RCW 9.41.090, RCW 9.41.129.
     
  10. parsimonious_instead

    parsimonious_instead Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    791
    Hawaii sounds very similar to NYS... although in NYS you can become a criminal for taking possession of a relative's guns without a pistol permit. You can get a permit and have their handguns recorded on it ahead of that person's demise, but it's not especially clear on how you could "dispose" of those guns without technically violating the law, if you have no interest in keeping them after they become yours.
     
  11. Dr_B

    Dr_B member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    822
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest, east of Washington but west of
    No permit needed to purchase or own a handgun in Idaho. We can open carry.

    We can also carry concealed as long as we are outside of city limits and engaged in outdoor activities like hunting, fishing, camping, etc. Open carry is OK anywhere except for schools, courtrooms, mental health facilities, jails, and postal orifices.
     
  12. bergmen

    bergmen Member.

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,319
    Location:
    Ukiah, California
    No "permit" but an HSC (Handgun Safety Certificate) is required as Zoogster indicated above. Holding a CCW exempts one from the HSC requirement.

    Dan
     
  13. Salmoneye

    Salmoneye Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1,905
    Location:
    The West Coast Of New England
    I'm in Vermont, and I have no idea...
     
  14. ns66

    ns66 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Messages:
    290
    so is NY the only state that requires license to own a handgun?
     
  15. CapnMac

    CapnMac Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Messages:
    10,299
    Location:
    DFW (formerly Brazos County), Texas
    I want to remember that City of Las Vegas has some restrictions, which do not apply in the rest of McFarrin Co, or the rest of Nevada.

    But, I could be wrong in that.
     
  16. Tim37

    Tim37 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Messages:
    113
    Location:
    Arkansas
    no permit to buy or own in arkansas we do have ccw permit but no open carry.
     
  17. Hangingrock

    Hangingrock Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,431
    Location:
    NC
    Let us revisit NC for a moment in regards to Purchasing Permits. Each County Sherriff in North Carolina has latitude in issuing Purchasing Permits. As an example some Sheriffs required character references or limit the number of Purchasing Permits to be issued in “X” period of time among other requirement they may stipulate. If an individual is a holder of a NC-Concealed Handgun Permit then Purchasing Permits are not required. A Purchasing Permit is not required to purchase long guns but maybe used in place of the Federal Instant Check if so desired by the purchaser.
     
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2012
  18. Midwest

    Midwest Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011
    Messages:
    2,569
    Location:
    Kentucky
    Las Vegas is in Clark County. Registration of handguns is required .

    http://www.nsrpa.us/legal/nevlocal.html

    "For Clark County, the first handgun purchase includes a 72 hour "cooling off" period. A handgun registration card (commonly known as a "blue card" because of its light blued color) is issued for each registered handgun, and must stay with the gun. Examples: If you take the gun to shoot at the range, you must take its blue card also. If you loan the gun to a friend, you must make sure he has the card with it. You may register your handgun at any branch of the Las Vegas Metropolitan Police Department (bring it to them UNLOADED AND IN A SAFE MANNER). If you sell or give away the handgun, you are obligated to have the registration transferred into the name of the new owner. If you wish to purchase other handguns, your "cooling off" period is waived if you have your blue card present. "
     
  19. Midwest

    Midwest Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011
    Messages:
    2,569
    Location:
    Kentucky
    Illinois requires the FOID (Firearms Owner ID) card for possession of any firearm.
     
  20. hermannr

    hermannr Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    976
    Location:
    Okanogan Highlans
    The really big problem in NY is not only do you need a permit to own, if you are an out-of-state person (like me) I cannot even bring a pistol I originally (legally) aquired in NYS almost 45 years ago back into the state, because I am not a NY state resident.

    Yes, the two WA comments I will add..open carry without a license or permit, and in certain cases even CC without a CPL. RCW 9.41.060
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice